Chuck Hogan

Chuck Hogan portrait image to appear alongside the Chuck Hogan biography.

Chuck Hogan is the author of several acclaimed novels, including Devils in Exile and The Killing Moon. The Town was awarded the Hammett Prize for excellence in crime writing, and named one of the ten best novels of the year by Stephen King.

In 2008, film director Guillermo del Toro announced plans to write a trilogy of vampire novels with Hogan. del Toro, best known for making Pans Labyrinth, Hellboy and The Devil's Backbone, said the trilogy would advance in "unexpected ways". The first book, The Strain, was released in 2009.

Hogan's novels include The Blood Artists, The Killing Moon and Prince of Thieves, which is being adapted into a feature film, starring and directed by Ben Affleck.

He lives with his family outside Boston.

Chuck Hogan books reviewed


  • The Standoff (1995)
  • The Blood Artists (1998)
  • Prince of Thieves (2004)
  • The Killing Moon (2007)
  • Devils in Exile (2010)

The Strain Trilogy (with Guillermo del Toro)

  • The Strain (2009)
  • The Fall (2010)
  • Eternal Night (2011)