Jon Sprunk

Jon Sprunk portrait image to appear alongside the Jon Sprunk biography.

Jon Sprunk grew up in central Pennsylvania, the eldest of four children. He attended Lock Haven University and graduated with a B.A. in English in 1992.

During his college years he developed a broader passion for literature and began his first awkward forays into fiction writing. Encouraged by professors and peers, he set out after graduation to become a serious writer. His first fantasy novel failed to find a publisher.

Over the next decade he married, changed jobs, and after much soul-searching, returned to writing. After many more rejections he joined Pennwriters and attended their annual conference in 2004. He read about the art of writing and since then has seen some success.

Several short stories have been published and in June 2009 he signed a multi-book contract with Pyr Books.

Jon Sprunk books reviewed


  • Cloaked in Shadow: Dark Tales of Elves (2003)
  • Sign of the Cross (2005)
  • Modern Magic (2006)
  • Sea of Madness (2007)
  • The Farmer's Daughter (2008)
  • Shadow's Son (Shadow Saga, 2010)