LJ Smith

LJ Smith portrait image to appear alongside the LJ Smith biography.

Lisa Jane Smith is the NY Times Bestselling author of the Vampire Diaries and Night World series. Recently her work Dark Visions debuted as Number 1 on the list. She has written over two dozen books for children and young adults, and has enjoyed writing every one of them. She lives in the Bay Area of California, but is happiest in a little cabin near Point Reyes National Park, which has lots of trees, lots of animals, lots of beaches to walk on, and lots of places to hike. She once, while hiking with a friend, saw a snow-white buck which allowed her to follow it nearly half a mile. She also likes to collect things: tiny boxes from different countries or of fanciful shape, 1800s (and earlier) children's literature, and books about quantum physics - especially about the mystery of the dark energy in the universe. She is a militant optimist, part of the velociraptor sisterhood (a fancy way of saying that she likes to read, write and discuss books with strong female characters), and has traveled extensively in Europe and the Far East.

You can visit her official website at http://www.ljanesmith.net where she is posting new stories about old characters and sneak peeks of upcoming books.

LJ Smith books reviewed


  • The Night of the Solstice (1987)
  • Heart of Valor (1990)
  • The Vampire Diaries, Volume I: The Awakening (1991)
  • The Vampire Diaries, Volume II: The Struggle (1991)
  • The Vampire Diaries, Volume III: The Fury (1991)
  • The Vampire Diaries, Volume IV: Dark Reunion (1991)
  • The Secret Circle, Volume I: The Initiation (1992)
  • The Secret Circle, Volume II: The Captive (1992)
  • The Secret Circle, Volume III: The Power (1992)
  • The Forbidden Game, Volume I: The Hunter (1994)
  • The Forbidden Game, Volume II: The Chase (1994)
  • The Forbidden Game, Volume III: The Kill (1994)
  • Dark Visions, Volume I: The Strange Power (1994)
  • Dark Visions, Volume II: The Possessed (1995)
  • Dark Visions, Volume III: The Passion (1995)
  • Night World: Secret Vampire (1996)
  • Night World: Daughters of Darkness (1996)
  • Night World: Spellbinder (1996)
  • Night World: Dark Angel (1996)
  • Night World: The Chosen (1997)
  • Night World: Soulmate (1997)
  • Night World: Huntress (1997)
  • Night World: Black Dawn (1998)
  • Night World: Witchlight (1998)