Reggie Oliver

Reggie Oliver has been a professional playwright, actor, and theatre director since 1975.

His plays include Imaginary Lines, Absolution, Back Payments and A Portrait of Two Artists. Adaptations include Maupassant's Taking Liberties, Feydeau's Put Some Clothes on, Clarisse! and Winner Takes All.

His biography of Stella Gibbons, Out of the Woodshed, was published by Bloomsbury in 1998. Besides plays, his publications include four volumes of "strange" stories: The Dreams of Cardinal Vittorini, The Complete Symphonies of Adolf Hitler, Masques of Satan, and Madder Mysteries, and a novella The Wounds of Exile.

An omnibus edition of his stories entitled Dramas from the Depths is published by Centipede, as part of its Masters of the Weird Tale series. His stories have appeared in over 25 anthologies, including successive volumes of Best New Horror, Year's Best Horror and The Black Book of Horror. His most recent acting has been a one man show based on two of his stories entitled Stage Frights.

Reggie Oliver books reviewed


  • The Dreams of Cardinal Vittorini and Other Strange Stories (2003)
  • The Complete Symphonies of Adolf Hitler (2005)
  • Masques of Satan: Twelve Tales and a Novella (2007)
  • Madder Mysteries (2009)
  • Dramas from the Depths (2010)
  • The Wounds of Exile (2010)
  • The Dracula Papers (2011)