Sara Douglass

Sara Douglass portrait image to appear alongside the Sara Douglass biography.

Sara Douglass grew up in South Australia. After working as a nurse‚ she completed three degrees at the University of Adelaide‚ including a PhD in early modern English history. She worked as a Senior Lecturer in Medieval History at La Trobe University‚ Bendigo. Sara now lives in Tasmania and is a full-time writer and gardener.

The following excerpt has been taken from the official Sara Douglass website.

"Sara Douglass not my birth name - I'm actually Sara Warneke, but if I'd been a boy I would have been called Douglass ... so when my first publisher HarperCollins Australia insisted I choose a different surname to get me off the lowest shelves in bookshops, I went with 'Douglass' with the double 'ss' to feminize it. I was born in 1957 in Penola, a small town in the south-east of South Australia. My parents, two older sisters and older brother lived on a farm called Gundealga (look out for the name in the Axis books) where Dad and Mum farmed sheep and a lot of hope. I loved the farm, and hated leaving it to go to school and, eventually, to move to the capital city of South Australia, Adelaide, when I was about seven. We moved to Fisher Street in Malvern, a southern suburb, living in an old and gently decaying bluestone Victorian house (which I still dream of regularly ... it was the house where I did most of my growing up). I was packed off to school, Methodist Ladies College, which was gentle, gentile and caring, and totally oblivious to the social revolutions of the 'sixties'."

Sara Douglass books reviewed


The Axis Trilogy

  • Battleaxe (1995)
  • Enchanter (1996)
  • StarMan (1996)

The Wayfarer Redemption

  • Sinner (1997)
  • Pilgrim (1998)
  • Crusader (1999)

The Crucible

  • The Nameless Day (2000)
  • The Wounded Hawk (2001)
  • The Crippled Angel (2002)

The Troy Game

  • Hades' Daughter (2002)
  • Gods' Concubine (2004)
  • Darkwitch Rising (2005)
  • Druid's Sword (2006)

Darkglass Mountain

  • The Serpent Bride (2007)
  • The Twisted Citadel (2008)