Alien: Out of the Shadows – dramatised for audio

A brand new audio drama, Alien: Out of the Shadows – starring Rutger Hauer (Blade Runner) in his first role for audio, Matthew Lewis (Harry Potter), Corey Johnson (The Bourne Ultimatum) and Kathryn Drysdale (St Trinian’s) – is available to download from April 26, 2016.

Alien: Out of the Shadow audiobook cover

A new chapter in the Alien franchise, the sci-fi audio drama is directed and produced by the renowned radio director Dirk Maggs (radio series of Hitchhiker’s Guide To The Galaxy), based on the original novel by award-winning author Tim Lebbon.

The story follows Chief Engineer Hooper (Corey Johnson), who finds himself in command of a stricken orbital mining vessel after its captain is killed. Hooper finds himself not only responsible for the lives of his fellow crew, but also for the survivor of the only previous alien encounter, Ripley (Laurel Lefkow).

Hooper’s ship, a large mining freighter, is in orbit over a planet whilst servicing a mine on its surface below. Suddenly, two of its drop ships appear unexpectedly from the storm-lashed planet, with on-board cameras revealing alien creatures are loose on the vessels, attacking the mining crew on their return to the freighter. The crew must struggle not only against the ferocious predatory aliens but also against Ash (Rutger Hauer), the Artificial Intelligence on board the freighter that will stop at nothing to secure an alien specimen alive.

Rutger Hauer (voicing Ash) says, “Working on such a famous franchise was a challenge, but an amazing one to have. This was also my first introduction to audio work; it was fascinating to focus on just how powerful the voice can be for such a unique, non-human character like Ash. In the art form I work in, creating compelling audio drama is the ultimate illusion.”

Available from April 26, 2016 and available to download at

Cast List

  • Ash – Rutger Hauer
  • Baxter – Matthew Lewis
  • Hooper – Corey Johnson
  • Ripley – Laurel Lefkow
  • Kasyanov – Andrea Deck
  • Lachance – Mac Macdonald
  • Jordan – Barbara Barnes
  • Powell – Abdul Salis
  • Welford – Nathan Osgood
  • Sneddon – Kathryn Drysdale
  • Garcia – Regina Brandolino
  • Vic Jones / Cornell – Tom Alexander


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.