Chris Wooding

Chris Wooding grew up in a small town in Leicestershire, where not much of anything happened. So he started to write novels. He was sixteen when he completed his first. He had an agent by eighteen. By nineteen he had signed his first book deal. When he left university he began to write full-time, and he has been doing it professionally all his adult life.

Now thirty-two, Chris has written sixteen books, which have been translated into twenty languages, won various awards and been published around the world. He writes for film and television, and has several projects in development.

Chris has travelled extensively round the world, having backpacked all over Europe and North America, Scandinavia, South East Asia, Japan and South Africa. He also lived in Madrid for a time. When he wasn’t travelling on his own, he spent his twenties touring with bands and seeing the UK and Europe from the back of a van.

He also learned not so long ago that his family tree can be traced back to John Milton, author of Paradise Lost, which has no bearing on him whatsoever but it’s kind of interesting anyway.

Chris lives in London.

Chris Wooding books reviewed


  • Catchman (1998)
  • The Haunting of Alaizabel Cray (2001)
  • Kerosene (2003)
  • Poison (2003)
  • Endgame (2003)
  • Crashing (2003)
  • Storm Thief (2006)
  • The Fade (2007)
  • Havoc - There's No Way Out! (2010)

Broken Sky

  • Broken Sky Part 1 (1999)
  • Broken Sky Part 2 (1999)
  • Broken Sky Part 3 (1999)
  • Broken Sky Part 4 (1999)
  • Broken Sky Part 5 (1999)
  • Broken Sky Part 6 (1999)
  • Broken Sky Part 7 (1999)
  • Broken Sky Part 8 (1999)
  • Broken Sky Part 9 (1999)
  • The Citadel (2008)
  • Communion (2008)

Braided Path

  • The Weavers of Saramyr (2003)
    An evil that comes from within the empire's centre, a sect of magicians close to the throne intent on killing any child born with magical powers. But now the empress has given birth to just such a child and revolution is brewing.
  • Skein of Lament (2004)
  • The Ascendancy Veil (2005)


  • Malice (2009)
  • Havoc (2010)

Tale of the Ketty Jay

  • Retribution Falls (2009)
    Dorian Frey is the roguish captain of the Ketty Jay and leader of a small and highly dysfunctional group of layabouts. Frey and his gang run contraband, rob airships and generally make a nuisance of themselves, all the while avoiding the Coalition Navy frigates.
  • The Black Lung Captain (2010)
  • The Iron Jackal (2012)
  • The Ace of Skulls (2013)
    All good things come to an end. And this is it: the last stand of the Ketty Jay and her intrepid crew. They’ve been shot down, set up, double-crossed and ripped off. They’ve stolen priceless treasures, destroyed a ten-thousand-year-old Azryx city and sort-of-accidentally blew up the son of the Archduke. Now they’ve gone and started a civil war. This time, they’re really in trouble. As Vardia descends into chaos, Captain Frey is doing his best to keep his crew out of it. He’s got his mind on other things, not least the fate of Trinica Dracken. But wars have a way of dragging people in, and sooner or later they’re going to have to pick a side. It’s a choice they’ll be staking their lives on. Cities fall and daemons rise. Old secrets are uncovered and new threats revealed. When the smoke clears, who will be left standing?