Clive Barker

Clive Barker portrait image to appear alongside the Clive Barker biography.

Clive Barker was born in Liverpool in 1952. He studied English Literature and Philosophy at Liverpool before moving to London at the age of twenty-one.

By his late-twenties Barker had published Book of Blood, Volumes 1-3 which achieved modest success. Three more volumes followed (Book of Blood, Volumes 4-6).

By 1987 two of Barker's stories (Rawhead Rex and Transmutations) were modified into films. He was not impressed with the adaptations and turned his hand to directing himself. The result was Hellraiser, based on the novella The Hellbound Heart. The film became a large cult success and he subsequently adapted his short story Cabal into the major motion film Nightbreed.

Clive Barker went on to write the epic fantasy Imajica, the illustrated children's fable The Thief of Always and Sacrament, a dark fantasy for all ages.

He currently lives in Los Angeles.

Literary inspirations:

  • Edgar Allan Poe
  • Ray Bradbury
  • Herman Meville
  • William Blake
  • William Borroughs
  • Arthur Machen

Clive Barker books reviewed


  • The Damnation Game (1985)
  • The Hellbound Heart (1986)
    In a quiet house on a quiet street Frank and Julia are having an affair. Not your ordinary affair. For Frank it began with his own insatiable sexual appetite, a mysterious lacquered box- and then an unhinged voyage through a netherworld of imaginable pleasures and unimaginable horror. Now Frank- or what is left of Frank - waits in an empty room. All he wants is to live as he was before. All julia can do is bring him her unfulfilled passions - and a little flesh and blood.
  • Weaveworld (1987)
    Weaveworld is an epic adventure of the imagination. It begins with a carpet in which a world of rapture and enchantment is hiding; a world which comes to life, alerting the dark forces and beginning a desperate battle to preserve the last vestiges of magic which Humankind still has access to. It is a book of visions and horrors, a story of quest, titanic struggles, of love and of hope. It is a triumph of imagination and storytelling, an adventure, a nightmare, a promise…
  • Cabal (1988)
    A fabulous journey through the mind of the master of dark imaginative fiction, Clive Barker. The nightmare had begun… Boone knew that there was no place on this earth for him now; no happiness here, not even with Lori. He would let Hell claim him, let Death take him there. But Death itself seemed to shrink from Boone. No wonder, if he had indeed been the monster who had shattered, violated and shredded so many others’ lives. And Decker had shown him the proof – the hellish photographs where the last victims were forever stilled, splayed in the last obscene moment of their torture. Boone’s only refuge now was Midian – that awful, legendary place in which gathered the half-dead, the Nightbreed…
  • The Great and Secret Show (1989)
  • Imajica (1991)
  • The Thief of Always (1992)
  • Everville (1994)
  • Sacrament (1996)
  • Galilee (1998)
  • Coldheart Canyon: A Hollywood Ghost Story (2001)
  • Tortured Souls (2001)
  • Abarat (2002)
  • Abarat: Days of Magic, Nights of War (2004)
  • Mister B. Gone (2007)
  • Absolute Midnight (2009)
  • Mr. Maximillian Bacchus And His Travelling Circus (2009)
  • The Candle in the Cloud
  • The Scarlet Gospels