Greg Keyes

Gregory Keyes (April 11, 1963) is an American writer of science fiction and fantasy. He is most famous for his quartet entitled The Age of Unreason, a steampunk/alchemical story starring Benjamin Franklin and Isaac Newton.

In 2003 he began a fantasy series titled The Kingdoms of Thorn and Bone, the first volume of which was The Briar King. The second book in the series The Charnel Prince was published in 2004 and the third, The Blood Knight, was published in July 2006. His fourth and final book of the quartet, The Born Queen, was released in March 2008.

In 2009 it was announced that Keyes would be writing two novels based on the successful computer game The Elder Scrolls IV: Oblivion. Random House published the first of these, The Infernal City, in November 2009.

Greg Keyes books reviewed


Chosen of the Changeling

  • The Waterborn (1996)
  • The Blackgod (1997)

The Age of Unreason

  • Newton's Cannon (1998)
  • A Calculus of Angels (1999)
  • Empire of Unreason (2000)
  • The Shadows of God (2001)

Babylon 5: The Psi Corps Trilogy

  • Dark Genesis: The Birth of the Psi Corps (1998)
  • Deadly Relations: Bester Ascendant (1999)
  • Final Reckoning: The Fate of Bester (1999)

Star Wars: The New Jedi Order

  • Edge of Victory I: Conquest (2001)
  • Edge of Victory II: Rebirth (2001)
  • The Final Prophecy (2003)

The Kingdoms of Thorn and Bone

  • The Briar King (2003)
    In the kingdom of Crotheny, two young girls play in the tangled gardens of the sacred city of the dead where they discover the crypt of a legendary ancestral queen. In the wilds of the forest, while investigating the mass slaughter of an innocent family, the king's forester comes face-to-face with a monstrous beast found only in folk tales. Meanwhile, travelling the same road, a scholarly young priest begins his education in the nature of the evil that festers just beneath the surface of a seemingly peaceful realm.
  • The Charnel Prince (2004)
  • The Blood Knight (2006)
  • The Born Queen (2008)

The Hounds of Ash: and Other Tales of Fool Wolf (2008)
The Infernal City (2009)