Juliet Marillier

Juliet Marillier was born on July the 27th, 1948 in Dunedin, New Zealand. An author of historical fantasy, she currently has eleven novels in print. Her books have won a number of awards over the years, the most recent being the 2008 Sir Julius Vogel Award for young adult novel, won by Cybele’s Secret.

Marillier’s first novel, Daughter of the Forest, was published in 1999. She has been a full time writer since 2002. Prior to this she worked as a teacher and tutor in music at both university and high school level. She also worked in the Australian public service.

Juliet Marillier books reviewed


The Sevenwaters Trilogy

  • Daughter of the Forest - Daughter of the Forest was a winner of the American Library Association's Alex Award, and was a finalist in the Aurealis Award for Best Fantasy Novel and the RWA Award for Romantic Novel of the Year.
  • Son of the Shadows - Son of the Shadows won the 2000 Aurealis Award for Best Fantasy Novel.
  • Child of the Prophecy - Child of the Prophecy was a finalist in the 2001 Aurealis Award for Best Fantasy Novel.

Saga of the Light Isles

  • Wolfskin - Wolfskin was first published in Australia in 2002, with US and UK editions released in 2003. It is also available in Portuguese, German and Dutch translation.
  • Foxmask - Foxmask was first published in Australia in 2003, with US and UK editions released in 2004. It is also available in Portuguese, German and Dutch translation.

The Bridei Chronicles

  • The Dark Mirror (Finalist for the 2005 RWA Romantic Novel Award)
    In the mid 6th century the Pictish kingdom in northern Britain is under threat from the Gaels and the Christian faith, which leaves the leaders of the northern realm struggling to maintain their ancient traditions. All hope rests on the shoulders of young Bridei, a little-known son of the royal line, who is seen as the perfect candidate for future kingship. At his remote forest home of Pitnochie, Broichan, a powerful druid, sets about training the boy in the ways of the ancients and in the all-important preparation to be a leader of men. But Broichan has not allowed for the Good Folk, inhabitants of the ancient forests of Fortriu and well-known workers of tricky magic. When Bridei discovers a strange baby girl abandoned on Broichan's doorstep in the chill of the winter solstice, he takes her into the house. And the druid has to realise that there is one unpredictable power at work that may be too strong for him to control and could become the death of his dreams.
  • Blade of Fortriu (Winner of the Aurealis Award for Best Fantasy Novel of 2005)
    The kingdom of Fortriu has enjoyed five years of peace since Bridei came to the throne. Now the king is preparing for the long-awaited war that he hopes will see the Gaelic invaders driven from the west forever. The princess Ana, a hostage of Fortriu since childhood, is sent north to make a strategic marriage with a chieftain she has never met – and with it gain an ally on whom Bridei’s victory relies. Her escort is led by a man she despises: the enigmatic Faolan, Bridei’s assassin and spy. The expedition is ill-fated, and when Ana arrives at the chieftain Alpin’s stronghold in the mysterious Briar Wood, she is uneasy. This is a place full of secrets. When Ana discovers a prisoner kept within the bleakest of confinement, she is met with a conspiracy of silence. Faolan, tortured by an impossible love, walks a delicate path between loyalty and betrayal...
  • The Well of Shades (2008)
    Sent home to Ireland on a secret mission for King Bridei of Fortriu, Faolan must first deliver the news of a brave warrior's death. Unexpectedly, Bridei's chief assassin and spy also finds himself facing the demons of his family's dark past. By the time he tracks down the powerful Christian cleric who may be a threat to Bridei's pagan kingdom, Faolan has become responsible for a child, a dog and Eile, a troubled, volatile young woman. For Eile, the journey to Fortriu is confronting. Accustomed to a life of deprivation and struggle, she finds herself facing an unfamiliar world, full of new lessons. For her, the hardest challenge of all will be learning to trust. At Bridei's court in White Hill, disturbing news from the neighbouring kingdom of Circinn prompts the king to call his chieftains to council. But after the disappearance of Bridei's closest adviser and the tragic death of a young maid, the threat posed by the encroaching influence of Christianity appears to be the least of the dangers at hand...

 More from Juliet Marillier

  • Wildwood Dancing - Winner of the 2006 Aurealis Award for Best Fantasy Novel, Winner of the 2009 Beehive Book Award for Young Adult Fiction (awarded by the Children's Literature Association of Utah, and decided by popular vote)
  • Cybele's Secret - An American Library Association Best Book for Young Adults 2009, Winner of the 2008 Sir Julius Vogel Award for best young adult novel. Finalist in the 2007 Aurealis Awards, Finalist in the Western Australian Premier's Book Awards for 2007.
  • Heir to Sevenwaters - Heir to Sevenwaters was a finalist in the 2009 Aurealis Awards, Heir to Sevenwaters is a finalist in the inaugural David Gemmell Legend Award.
  • Heart's Blood (2009)
    Whistling Tor is a place of secrets, a mysterious, wooded hill housing the crumbling fortress of a chieftain whose name is spoken throughout the district in tones of revulsion and bitterness. A curse lies over Anluan’s family and his people; those woods hold a perilous force whose every whisper threatens doom. For young scribe Caitrin it is a safe haven. This place where nobody else is prepared to go seems exactly what she needs, for Caitrin is fleeing her own demons. As Caitrin comes to know Anluan and his home in more depth she realizes that it is only through her love and determination that the curse can be broken and Anluan and his people set free.

Critical acclaim

... for the Bridei Chronicles

Marillier excels at breathing life into the past. Possessing the charm and sweetness of the very young, Bridei and Tuala keep their golden glow to the last page. Booklist

Fans of historical fantasy will devour this one and wait eagerly for its sequels. VOYA