Matt Haig

Matt Haig was born in 1975. He is the author of The Last Family in England (2004), and the forthcoming children's novel, Shadow Forest. His website is at

Matt Haig was born in Sheffield in 1975 and grew up in Nottinghamshire. He now lives in Leeds. His writing has appeared in the Guardian, the Sunday Times, the Independent, the Sydney Morning Herald and the Face.

His novels are often dark and quirky takes on family life. The Last Family in England tells the story of Shakespeare's Henry IV, Part 1 with the protagonists as dogs. It was a bestseller in the UK and the film rights have been sold to Brad Pitt's Plan B production company. His second novel Dead Fathers Club is based on Hamlet, telling the story of an introspective 11-year old dealing with the recent death of his father and the subsequent appearance of his father's ghost. His third adult novel, The Possession of Mr Cave, deals with an obsessive father desperately trying to keep his teenage daughter safe. His chidren's novel, Shadow Forest, is a fantasy that begins with the horrific death of the protagonists' parents. It won the Nestlé Children's Book Prize in 2007.

"Weaves horror and humour into a terrific tale" The Times

Matt Haig reviews

The Radleys

NA written by Matt Haig

Life with the Radleys: Radio 4, dinner parties with the Bishopthorpe neighbours and self-denial. Loads of self-denial. But all hell is about to break loose. When teenage da [...]

Published: 2010

Our rating: 9.0 | 0 positive reader reviews


Echo Boy

NA written by Matt Haig

Echo Boy by Nestlé Smarties Book Prize winner Matt Haig is a stand-alone science/speculative-fiction novel set exactly 100 years in the future. It offers a vision of [...]

Published: 2014

Our rating: 9.0 | 0 positive reader reviews


Shadow Forest

Shadow Forest series: Book 1 written by Matt Haig

Right now, he and his sister Martha are in the back of his parents' car. He has no idea a giant log is about to fall from the sky and change his life forever. He doesn& [...]

Published: 2007

Our rating: 8.8 | 8 positive reader reviews


The Runaway Troll

Shadow Forest series: Book 2 written by Matt Haig

There's one thing every troll child dreads more than anything u and that's being sent to the Betterer. The Betterer is the most evil troll in Shadow Forest who love [...]

Published: 2008

Our rating: 8.8 | 6 positive reader reviews