R Scott Bakker

Richard Scott Bakker, born February 2, 1967, is a Canadian author of fantasy fiction. He attended the University of Western Ontario before moving to London, Ontario, where he now lives with his wife.

R. Scott Bakker's work is dominated by a large series informally known as The Second Apocalypse, which Bakker began developing while in college in the 1980's. The series was originally planned to be a trilogy, with the first two books entitled The Prince of Nothing and The Aspect-Emperor. The third book has been referred to as The Book That Shall Not Be Named by Bakker, since the title of this book is considered to be a spoiler for the preceding volumes. However, when Bakker began writing the series in the early 2000's, he found it necessary to split each of the three novels into its own sub-series to incorporate all of the characters, themes and ideas he wished to explore. Bakker originally conceived of seven books: a trilogy and two duologies. This later shifted to two trilogies and one duology, with the acknowledgment that the third series may yet also expand to a trilogy.

R Scott Bakker reviews

The Darkness That Comes Before

Prince of Nothing: Book 1 written by R Scott Bakker

Welcome to Eärwa my friends. Where the sun is hot and the names are long. In reflection, these are the first things I always remember of this book. I recommend you spe [...]

Published: 2003

Our rating: 8.5 | 1 positive reader reviews


The Warrior Prophet

Prince of Nothing: Book 2 written by R Scott Bakker

"Book Two of The Prince of Nothing" finds the Holy War continuing its inexorable march southward. But the suspicion begins to dawn that the real threat comes not [...]

Published: 2006

Our rating: 8.5 | 1 positive reader reviews


The Judging Eye

The Aspect Emperor: Book 1 written by R Scott Bakker

The Three Seas are on the march under the leadership of Anasûrimbor Khellus. Khellus has spent these last twenty years conquering the various nations and forming the [...]

Published: 2009

Our rating: 10.0 | 1 positive reader reviews


The White Luck Warrior

The Aspect Emperor: Book 2 written by R Scott Bakker

A score of years after he first walked into the histories of men, Anasûrimbor Kellhus rules all the three seas, the first true Aspect-Emperor in a thousand years. [...]

Published: 2011

Our rating: 8.5 | 0 positive reader reviews