RA Salvatore

RA Salvatore portrait image to appear alongside the RA Salvatore biography.

Robert Anthony Salvatore was born in Leominster, Massachusetts on January 20, 1959. A graduate of Leominster High School, Salvatore attended Fitchburg State College to study computerscience, however, he changed his major to journelism after recieving a copy of The Lord of the Rings as a Christmas gift. He received a Bachelor of Science Degree in Communications from Fitchburg State College in 1981, then returned to study for the degree he really wanted, the Bachelor of Arts in English. His writing career began in earnest in 1982 when the manuscript that would later become Echoes of the Forth Magic was penned, and his first novel published The Crystal Shard, the first of the Icewind Dale Trilogy, was released in 1988 however, it wasn't until 1990 that Salvatore became a writer full time.His books have been translated into numerous foreign languages including German, Italian, Finnish, Greek, Hungarian, Turkish, Croatian, Bulgarian, Yiddish, Spanish, Russian, Polish, Czech, and French and he consistently appears on The New York Times best sellers list selling in excess of 10 million copies of his multi-volume series including The Dark Elf Trilogy, Paths of Darkness, The Hunter's Blades Trilogy, and The Cleric Quintet. He is noted for his intense and descriptive battle scenes which have been attributed to his history in boxing and his work as a bouncer. R. A. Salvatore enjoys an ever-expanding and extremely loyal following and counts Ian Fleming, Arthur Conan Doyle, Fritz Leiber, and of course, J.R.R. Tolkien amongst his literary influences. Still a resident of Massachusetts, Salvatore lives there with his wife Diane, and their three children, Bryan, Geno, and Caitlin and numerous pets.

RA Salvatore books reviewed


Forgotten Realms

The Icewind Dale Trilogy

  • The Crystal Shard (1988)
  • Streams of Silver (1989)
  • The Halfling's Gem (1990)

The Dark Elf Trilogy

  • Homeland (1990)
  • Exile (1990)
  • Sojourn (1991)

Legacy of the Drow

  • The Legacy (1992)
  • Starless Night (1993)
  • Siege of Darkness (1994)
  • Passage to Dawn (1996)

Paths of Darkness

  • The Silent Blade (1998)
  • The Spine of the World (1999)
  • Servant of the Shard (2000)
  • Sea of Swords (2001)

The Cleric Quintet

  • Canticle (1991)
  • In Sylvan Shadows (1992)
  • Night Masks (1992)
  • The Fallen Fortress (1993)
  • The Chaos Curse (1994)

The Hunter's Blades Trilogy

  • The Thousand Orcs (2002)
  • The Lone Drow (2003)
  • The Two Swords (2004)

The Sellswords

  • Servant of the Shard (2000)
  • The Promise of the Witch King (2005)
  • Road of the Patriarch (2006)


  • The Orc King (September 2007)
  • The Pirate King (October 2008)
  • The Ghost King (October 2009)

War of the Spider Queen

  • Dissolution (written by Richard Lee Byers) (2002)
  • Insurrection (written by Thomas M. Reid) (2002)
  • Condemnation (written by Richard Baker) (2003)
  • Extinction (written by Lisa Smedman) (2004)
  • Annihilation (written by Philip Athans) (2004)
  • Resurrection (written by Paul S. Kemp) (2005)

The Spearwielder's Tales

  • The Woods Out Back (1993)
  • The Dragon's Dagger (1994)
  • Dragonslayer's Return (1995)

Saga of the First King

  • The Highwayman (2004)
  • The Ancient (2008)

The DemonWars Saga

  • The Demon Awakens (1997)
  • The Demon Spirit (1998)
  • The Demon Apostle (1999)
  • Mortalis (2000)
  • Ascendance (2001)
  • Transcendence (2001)
  • Immortalis (2003)
  • Nero (2009)

Chronicles of Ynis Aielle

  • Echoes of the Fourth Magic (1990)
  • The Witch's Daughter (1991)
  • Bastion of Darkness (2000)

Crimson shadow series

  • The Sword of Bedwyr (1994)
  • Luthien's Gamble (1996)
  • The Dragon King (1996)

Star Wars
Star Wars Episode II: Attack of the Clones (film novelization) (2002)

Star Wars: The New Jedi Order
Vector Prime (2000)

Graphic Novel Adaptations
The Crystal Shard
Streams of Silver
Trial by Fire (2001)
The Halfling's Gem
Eye for an Eye

Other novels
Tarzan: The Epic Adventures.

Short Stories
The First Notch Dragon Magazine #152 (1989)
A Sparkle for Homer Halflings, Hobbits, Warrows, and Weefolk (1991)
Dark Mirror (short story) Realms of Valor Feb (1993)
The Third Level Realms of Infamy (1994)
Guenhwyvar Realms of Magic (1995)
The Coach With Big Teeth Otherwere (1996)
Gods' Law Tales of Tethedril (1998)
Mather's Blood Dragon Magazine #252 (1998)
That Curious Sword Realms of Shadow (2002)
Three Ships Demons Wars: Trial By Fire Comic TP (2003)
Empty Joys The Best of the Realms (2003)
The Dowry The Highwayman (2004)
Wickless In the Nether Realms of Dragons (2004)
Comrades at Odds Realms of the Elves (2006)
If Ever They Happen Upon My Lair Dragons: World Afire (2006)

Other media
The Accursed Tower A 2nd Edition AD&D Module
Demon Stone Role-playing Game released on PS2, XBox, and PC
In collaboration with Seven Swords, R A Salvatore created the bot chat responses for the computer game Quake 3 Arena