Richard A Knaak

Richard A. Knaak was born in Chicago on May 28, but now splits his time between Chicago and Arkansas.

Originally a chemistry major at the University of Illinois in Champaign-Urbana, he switched to Rhetoric, graduating with a Bachelor's Degree.

He has been published since 1987 and his works have been translated into German, Italian, French, Danish, Japanese, Spanish, Polish, Finnish, Czech, Hungarian, Turkish, and Russian.

His latest novel, THE VEILED PROPHET, part of the SIN WAR for Diablo, is now out. He is currently at work on THE GARGOYLE KING, the third book in THE OGRE TITANS trilogy, a follow-up to his popular MINOTAUR WARS for Dragonlance, STORMRAGE for World of WarCraft, and new manga work for Tokyopop involving not only a sequel to the popular Sunwell trilogy but short fiction in both the WarCraft and StarCraft universes.

He first became interested in reading fantasy and science fiction when he discovered a copy of Andre Norton's Storm over Warlock. Devouring that, he located Roger Zelazny's Creatures of Light and Darkness and the Amber Series, then Edgar Rice Burroughs' Mars stories. Along with Edgar Allan Poe and illustrator/authors Chester Gould and Jack Kirby, Knaak considers these his greatest influences. Other favorite authors include Glen Cook, L. Sprague de Camp, Lawrence Watt-Evans, Harry Turtledove, Jennifer Roberson, Laurell K. Hamilton, Harry Harrison, and Robert Sawyer. On the side, he enjoys reading, travel, food, and old movies.

Richard A Knaak books reviewed



  • The Legend of Huma (1988)
  • Kaz the Minotaur (1990)
  • Land of the Minotaurs (1996)
  • Reaver of the Blood Sea (1999)
  • The Citadel (2000)


  • Legacy of Blood (2001)
  • The Kingdom of Shadow (2002)
  • Moon of the Spider (2006)

The Minotaur Wars

  • Night of Blood (2003)
  • Tides of Blood (2004)
  • Empire of Blood (2005)

The Sin War

  • Birthright (2006)
  • Scales of the Serpent (2007)
  • The Veiled Prophet (2007)

The Ogre Titans Trilogy

  • The Black Talon (2007)
  • The Fire Rose (2008)
  • The Gargoyle King (2009)

The Dragonrealm

  • Firedrake (1989)
  • Ice Dragon (1989)
  • Wolfhelm (1990)
  • Shadow Steed (1990)
  • The Shrouded Realm (1991)
  • Children of the Drake (1991)
  • Dragon Tome (1992)
  • The Crystal Dragon (1993)
  • The Dragon Crown (1994)
  • The Horse King (1997)


  • Day of the Dragon (2001)
    In the mist-shrouded haze of the past, the world of Azeroth teemed with wondrous creatures of every kind. Mysterious Elves and hardy Dwarves walked among tribes of man in relative peace and harmony, until the arrival of the demonic army known as Burning Legion shattered the world's tranquility forever. Now Orcs, Dragons, Goblins, and Trolls all vie for supremacy over the scattered, warring kingdoms - part of a grand, malevolent scheme that will determine the fate of the world of Warcraft. A terrifying upheaval among the highest ranks of the world's Wizards sends the maverick Mage, Rhonin, on a perilous journey into the Orc-controlled lands of Khaz Modan. What Rhonin uncovers is a vast, far-reaching conspiracy, darker than anything he ever imagined - a threat that will force him into a dangerous alliance with ancient creatures of air and fire if the world of Azeroth is to see another dawn.
  • Night of the Dragon (2008)
  • Stormrage (2010)

The War of the Ancients Saga

  • The Well of Eternity (2004)
  • The Demon Soul (2004)
  • The Sundering (2005)

The Age of Conan

  • The God in the Moon (2006)
  • The Eye of Charon (2006)
  • The Silent Enemy (2006)

Other novels

  • King of the Grey (1993)
  • Frostwing (1995)
  • The Janus Mask (1995)
  • Dutchman (1996)
  • Ruby Flames (1999)
  • Beastmaster: Myth (2009)