Robert Holdstock

Robert Holdstock was born in Hythe, Kent. He became a full-time writer during 1976 and lived out the rest of his life in North London. He died in hospital at the age of 61, following his collapse with an E. coli infection. His breakthrough novel Mythago Wood was published during 1984. The book marked the beginning of the Ryhope Wood series and is recognized as Holdstock's first major fantasy work. From 2001 to 2007 he produced a trilogy of fantasy novels, the Merlin Codex, consisting of Celtika, The Iron Grail and The Broken Kings.

Robert Holdstock is placed in a quartet of fantasy authors (also including Ursula Le Guin, John Crowley and Marion Zimmer Bradley) renowned for writing fantasy books that come close to J. R. R. Tolkien's work in regards to breadth and depth of imagination.

Robert Holdstock reviews

Merlin's Wood

NA written by Robert Holdstock

In the depths of Broceliande - an ancient French woodland - Merlin and the enchantress Vivien play out their deadly feud. Meanwhile, a child is born deaf, dumb and blind. H [...]

Published: 0000

Our rating: 8.8 | 0 positive reader reviews


Ancient Echoes

NA written by Robert Holdstock

Chatwin has visions of a parallel world where a couple are fleeing some terrible event pursued by an enemy and are seeking a gate to freedom. Chatwin is the gate, and when [...]

Published: 1996

Our rating: 9.6 | 1 positive reader reviews


Mythago Wood

Ryhope Wood: Book 1 written by Robert Holdstock

Deep within the wildwood lies a place of myth and mystery, from which few return, and none remain unchanged. Ryhope Wood may look like a three-mile-square fenced-in wood in [...]

Published: 1984

Our rating: 9.8 | 2 positive reader reviews



Ryhope Wood: Book 2 written by Robert Holdstock

At the heart of the wildwood lies a place of mystery and legend, from which few return and none emerged unchanged: Lavondyss . . . the ultimate realm, the source of all myt [...]

Published: 1988

Our rating: 9.5 | 1 positive reader reviews


The Hollowing

Ryhope Wood: Book 3 written by Robert Holdstock

The victim of a violent attack, Alex Bradley is a damaged and visionary child. Little does he know that the distorted creations of his mind are alive inside nearby Ryhope W [...]

Published: 1993

Our rating: 9.8 | 0 positive reader reviews


Gate of Ivory, Gate of Horn

Ryhope Wood: Book 6 written by Robert Holdstock

Ryhope Wood holds ancient secrets and memories – from legend, history, real and believed – that manifest themselves in physical form. Known as mythagos, they ar [...]

Published: 1997

Our rating: 9.0 | 0 positive reader reviews



Ryhope Wood: Book 7 written by Robert Holdstock

At the heart of Ryhope Wood, Steven and the mythago Guiwenneth live in the ruins of a Roman villa close to a haunted fortress from the Iron Age, from which Guiwenneth's [...]

Published: 2009

Our rating: 9.0 | 0 positive reader reviews