Roger Zelazny biography

Roger Joseph Zelazny was born in Ohio on May the 13th, 1937. Zelazny's most celebrated fantasy works are The Amber Chronicles. He has inspired younger fantasy writers, with George R. R. Martin and Neil Gaiman being heavily influenced by his work.

Zelazny was the only child of a Polish father and Irish-American mother. He first began writing in 1962 and in 1969 was able to leave his day job and become a full time writer.

Zelazny was heavily influenced by Greek, Egyptian, Native American and Hindu mythology and these themes can be found within many of his works.

Zelazny died in 1995 of kidney failure.

Roger Zelazny awards

Roger Zelazny won Hugo Awards in three separate decades, the 60s, 70s and 80s. He won the award an astonishing six times. His 1966 award was shared with Frank Herbert's Dune.

  • 1987 - Permafrost by Roger Zelazny (Novelette)
  • 1986 - Twenty-four Views of Mount Fuji, by Hokusai by Roger Zelazny (Novella)
  • 1982 - Unicorn Variation by Roger Zelazny (Novelette)
  • 1976 - Home Is the Hangman by Roger Zelazny (Novella)
  • 1968 - Lord of Light by Roger Zelazny (Novel)
  • 1966 - ... And Call Me Conrad by Roger Zelazny and Dune by Frank Herbert (tie)