The New Jedi Order

A look at the list of Star Wars novels will see the Star Wars expanded universe split into several eras. There is the Rise of the Empire era, the Rebellion era, the New Republic era and the New Jedi Order era (as well as the Legacy era which follows). For the majority of those periods of time the books that fill it are a collection of trilogies, duologies and individual books.

Image: New Jedi Order

However, towards the end of 1999, the beginning of a single line of books, published under the title The New Jedi Order, or more commonly referred to as NJO, was started. The brains trust behind the Star Wars novels decided it was time for a change, and the change would leave a lasting impression on the Star Wars universe.

The New Jedi Order is made up of 19 novels, plus a collection of short stories, ebook novellas and comic books. Published between 1999 and 2003, the series wrought heavy changes in the Star Wars universe.

Possibly one of the biggest changes was the dark tone that the series took. Death and destruction were brought to the fore, and the death of several major characters had fans outraged and unhappy. Most unfortunate was the untimely release of Star by Star, a book that bore striking resemblance to the September 11 attacks and was sadly released so soon after said tragedy.

Though not as unloved as the prequel movies, the NJO books were not the huge success within the Star Wars fanbase that the brains trust had hoped for.

Star Wars novelist Timothy Zahn felt the series was too dark and had stayed from the “feel” of Star Wars, and later Editorial Director of Del Ray expressed his regret over some of the grimmer aspects the series portrayed, and of the main villain, the Yuuzhan Vong.

For those with the “trust” of continuing the Star Wars universe in this format, it is only fair that they are seen to be taking the blame for something that some fans did not like. However it is a little sad that the backlash was such that they were forced into such a decision.

Being only three books in, I’ll admit that maybe the series deepens in its “grimness” and actually strays from the Star Wars ethos. But so far all I’m seeing is Star Wars characters dealing with a level of violence they had yet to encounter. This is not a bad thing, and helps deepen the characters out of the “good guy/bad guy” stereotypes that were originally conceived in the movies.

So stay tuned to Fantasy Book Reviews newest section focusing solely on the Star Wars universe for more NJO reviews as I get through the books. I’ll keep the spoilers to a minimum except for three deaths which cannot be overlooked (I’ll make sure to warn before the review).

Books making up the NJO series;

–        Vector Prime by R.A. Salvatore (25 ABY)

–        Dark Tide I: Onslaught by Michael Stackpole (25 ABY)

–        Dark Tide II: Ruin by Michael Stackpole (25 ABY)

–        Agents of Chaos I: Hero’s Trial by James Luceno (25 ABY)

–        Agents of Chaos II: Jedi Eclipse by James Luceno (25 ABY)

–        Balance Point by Kathy Tyers (26 ABY)

–        Edge of Victory I: Conquest by Greg Keyes (26 ABY)

–        Edge of Victory II: Rebirth by Greg Keyes (27 ABY)

–        Star by Star by Troy Denning (27 ABY)

–        Dark Journey by Elaine Cunningham (27 ABY)

–        Enemy Lines I: Rebel Dream by Aaron Allston (27 ABY)

–        Enemy Lines II: Rebel Stand by Aaron Allston (27 ABY)

–        Traitor by Matthew Stover (27 ABY)

–        Destiny’s Way by Walter Jon Williams (28 ABY)

–        Force Heretic I: Remnant by Sean Williams & Shane Dix (28 ABY)

–        Force Heretic II: Refugee by Sean Williams & Shane Dix (28 ABY)

–        Force Heretic III: Reunion by Sean Williams & Shane Dix (28 ABY)

–        The Final Prophecy by Greg Keyes (28 ABY)

–        The Unifying Force by James Luceno (29 ABY)

Other additions to NJO;

–        Boba Fett: A Practical Man by Karen Traviss – eBook Novella set after Vector Prime

–        Emissary of the Void by Greg Keyes – short story set after Balance Point

–        Recovery by Troy Denning – eBook Novella set prior to Edge of Victory I: Conquest

–        The Apprentice by Elaine Cunningham – short story set after Dark Journey

–        Ylesia by Walter Jon Williams – eBook Novella set after Destiny’s War

–        Equals and Opposites by Nathan Butler – comic book set after Force Heretic I: Remnant

–        Or Die Trying by Sean Williams and Shane Dix – short story set after Force Heretic II: Refuge

One Comment

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.