The Best Completed Fantasy Trilogies for Children

The very best fantasy trilogies for younger readers. But these books can also be thoroughly enjoyed by adults. If you have any suggestions please leave a comment below.

Also in this series:

The Bartimaeus Trilogy by Jonathan Stroud

The Bartimaeus Trilogy book covers
The Bartimaeus Trilogy: The Amulet of Samarkand (2003), The Golem’s Eye (2004) and Ptolemy’s Gate (2005).

The Bartimaeus Trilogy is one of the finest trilogies found in the fantasy genre. Although often classed as young-adult fantasy there is no upper-age limit for books this good, all ages will enjoy it. This sublime mix of alternate history and magical fantasy features magnificent characterisation and dialogue; it is always funny and often hilarious. Ptolemy’s Gate’s perfect ending will move many to tears. We highly recommend.

His Dark Materials by Philip Pullman

His Dark Materials book covers
His Dark Materials: Northern Lights (1995), The Subtle Knife (1997) and The Amber Syglass (2000).

Phillip Pullman’s His Dark Materials is written as a children’s book yet is equally as absorbing to an adult reader. It is wonderfully enthralling from the first page and paints a world that you long to visit. The ending of the trilogy is bittersweet yet so sensitive and true to the characters that it will bring a tear to your eye. Wonderfully engrossing and so packed full of of explosive plot lines that you’ll find it difficult to put down.

The Abhorsen Trilogy by Garth Nix

The Abhorsen Trilogy book covers
The Abhorsen Trilogy: Sabriel (1995), Lirael (2001) and Abhorsen (2003).

A very accomplished trilogy best suited to a readers aged 12+. The Abhorsen trilogy consists of three lovely books which handle quite a difficult subject matter with real sensitivity and a positive outlook, though there are some very dark moments that may frighten younger readers. Very readable and perfect for the bedside table, if you don’t spook easily!

Predator Cities by Philip Reeve

The Predator Cities book covers
Predator Cities: Mortal Engines (2001), Predator’s Gold (2003) and Infernal Devices (2005).

In a dangerous future, huge motorized cities hunt, attack and fight each other for survival. Follow Tom and Hester in an exciting and visually descriptive adventure chock full of humour.

Inkheart by Cornelia Funke

The Inkheart Trilogy book covers
The Inkheart Trilogy: Inkheart (2003), Inkspell (2005) and Inkdeath (2007).

Meggie loves stories, but her father, Mo, hasn’t read to her since her mother disappeared. When a stranger knocks at their door, Mo is forced to reveal an extraordinary secret – when he reads aloud, words come alive, and dangerous characters step out of the pages. A tale of adventure and fantasy that celebrates books.


Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published.