Trial of Stone by Andy Peloquin

(8.7/10) The perfect novel for fans of multi POV epic fantasy in the vein of Brandon Sanderson and John Gwynne

Trial Of Stone, the debut in a new 5 book series by the ever-prolific Andy Peloquin, is the perfect novel for fans of multi-POV epic fantasy in the vein of Brandon Sanderson and John Gwynne. It tells the stories of Issa, Evren, Kodyn, and Aisha, who each have very different missions, but as the story progresses, become more and more intertwined as the thief, the assassin and the aspiring Keeper’s Blade’s quests bring them together in a dangerous web of intrigue and deception.

While set in the same world as both of Peloquin’s other series, "Hero Of Darkness" and "Queen of Thieves," there is no need to have completed those series to enjoy this one. Peloquin gives us enough background about Evren and Hailen’s relationship with The Hunter, and Kodyn’s relationship with Ilanna, that readers won’t feel lost. They will, however, likely want to go back and find out more about Peloquin’s wonderfully fleshed out world.

Much of the novel takes place in Shalandra, a city corruptly governed by priests of the God of Death, where people are segregated in to “castes,” some elevated to near royal status, while others are relegated to subservience with the inability to ever rise in status. It’s the perfect setting for the type of conflict the novel presents, where even those with the best of intentions often struggle to trust those that would be their closest allies.

Being book one in a hugely ambitious series, there is quite a lot of setup here. We learn extensively about each of the POVs, their backgrounds and their individual quests. Alliances are formed, and intensity builds. Aisha, Kodyn’s friend who accompanies him on his mission, is particularly significant as she is able to interact with the dead, which is really the first use of magic in the novel. The side characters are also written in to storylines in a way that almost ensures that they will be developed and integrated more in future books. 

Peloquin writes excellent complex plots, but at his core is a character based author. Through a great deal of interaction, and some inner monologue, he makes us care about his characters, their struggles and their conquests. He manages the difficult task of bringing a sense of urgency to each one of his story beats, and unlike his individually centred other series his challenge of maintaining interest with each POV is masterfully accomplished. There are a number of truly emotional moments in this novel. 

What’s amazing about Trial Of Stone, perhaps above anything else is the complexity of the world, it’s systems of government, the beautiful descriptive prose, and the fact that this is the type of novel that takes many authors 5 years to write. Andy Peloquin has become one of my favorite authors. His prolificacy never hinders the quality of his work, and he sets a very high benchmark for self published Fantasy. I will be devouring this series quickly, with more detailed reviews as it goes on and I look forward to what Andy offers us next.

Review by

12+

Trial of Stone reader reviews

8.7/10 from 1 reviews

Write a reader review

There are currently no reader reviews for this book. Why not be the first?

Your rating out of 10

All reviews for Andy Peloquin's Heirs of Destiny series

Trial of Stone

Heirs of Destiny #1 written by Andy Peloquin

A kingdom of death. A war for power and profit. Young heroes caught in the crossfire.Kodyn expected hardships along his journey to return a kidnapped girl to he [...]

Published: 2019

Our rating: 8.7 | positive reader reviews

12+

More Andy Peloquin reviews

Darkblade Assassin

by Andy Peloquin

Dexter meets the Punisher. Durzo Blint meets Ezio Auditore da Firenze. An epic fantasy novel of betrayal, death, violence, and vengeance readers are calling "fearless, [...]

Series: Hero of Darkness #1
Published: 2015

Score: 85

Our rating: 8.5 | 0 positive reader reviews

15+

Books you may also enjoy

The Hero of Ages

by Brandon Sanderson

Tricked into releasing the evil spirit Ruin while attempting to close the Well of Ascension, new emperor Elend Venture and his wife, the assassin Vin, are now hard-pressed [...]

Series: Mistborn: Book 3
Published: 2008

Score: 113

Our rating: 10.0 | 9 positive reader reviews

12+

The Priory of the Orange Tree

by Samantha Shannon

A world divided.A queendom without an heir.An ancient enemy awakens.The House of Berethnet has ruled Inys for a thousand years. Still unwed, Queen S [...]

Series: NA
Published: 2019

Score: 99

Our rating: 9.8 | 1 positive reader reviews

12+

Half a King

by Joe Abercrombie

Prince Yarvi has vowed to regain a throne he never wanted. But first he must survive cruelty, chains and the bitter waters of the Shattered Sea itself. And he must do it al [...]

Series: Shattered Sea #1
Published: 2014

Score: 102

Our rating: 9.7 | 5 positive reader reviews

12+

Tymon's Flight

by Mary Victoria

The World Tree rises up out of the seething clouds like a green mountain, lifting its children up to the light. All creation nestles in its gigantic branches: all take shel [...]

Series: Chronicles of the Tree: Book 1
Published: 2010

Score: 97

Our rating: 9.6 | 1 positive reader reviews

12+