You Die When You Die by Angus Watson (West of West #1)

9/10 Watson's world building and fight scene creation are top notch. Highly recommended!

Originally posted on:

First off, I want to thank the great people over at Orbit for the copy of “You Die When You Die (West of West #1), even though I ended up finishing it out via audiobook. This was my first venture in Angus Watson’s writing and it certainly won’t be my last. On top of the upcoming sequels for the West of West series, he has another series called The Iron Age Trilogy, which is a well-appreciated series of speculative fiction inspired by history.

The town of Hardwork really doesn’t live up to its name. It is a small Viking village made up of easy going people known as “Mushroom Men” by the towns that surround them and who live fairly toil-free, secure lives. That carefree attitude comes to a halt when the village is attacked and burned to the ground, all thanks to the Calnians and their prophecy that these Mushroom Men will bring about the end of the world. Led by the advice of a slow-witted boy who can see into the future, a small group of villagers have fled Hardwork and headed west. But what are they running from? The Owsla; a group of magically endowed, brutish women who will stop at nothing in order to end the lives of every Hardworker. But where will the villagers go? West, and then west some more until they reach The Meadow. But what awaits them there, and will they be able to outrun the Owsla?

Watson’s writing really shines in his character creation, led by the infamous Finnbogi the Boggy. I mean, come on, with a name like that, how could you not fall in love with this book? Whether it is Finn, or Wulf the Fat, or even Sassa Lipchewer, each character has their own quirks, determined path, and humorous personality that just flows throughout the story and adds so much to it. You also have the group of Owsla, each member being vastly different from the other, especially in magic enhancement, source of said power, and attitude. While you find yourself rooting for the Hardworkers throughout the novel, it is hard to not want to see the Owsla through as well. I also want to give props to Watson on his world building and fight scene creation, both of which were top notch.

If you enjoyed Watson’s previous series, like stories about Vikings, or need a new author to check out, grab a copy of You Die When you Die. Book 2, The Land You Never Leave, will be released by Orbit on February 22nd, 2018.

Review by

Our interview with Angus Watson

Interview by Fergus McCartanLast week we had the release of the second book in the wonderful Iron Age fantasy series by Angus Watson, Clash of Iron. To celebrate this event we are speaking with Angus, asking him a little abou [...]

Read interview


Angus Watson's West of West series

You Die When You Die

West of West #1

The Land You Never Leave

West of West #2

You Die When You Die reader reviews

8.5/10 from 1 reviews

Write a reader review

There are currently no reader reviews for this book. Why not be the first?

Your rating out of 10

More reviews of Angus Watson books

Books you may also enjoy

The Silver Sorceress

Alec Hutson

Following reviews

Revenant Winds

Mitchell Hogan

Cold Iron

Miles Cameron

Nightmare Keep

Phil Tucker

The Winter Long

Seanan McGuire

The Land You Never Leave

Angus Watson

The Tower of Living and Dying

Anna Smith Spark

War Criminals

Gavin G Smith


ML Spencer