The First of Shadows by Deck Matthews

(8.5/10)

The First of Shadows is an exhilarating read. It’s the first in Deck Matthews’ The Riven Realm series, and his debut to boot - and what a debut! Matthews gives us pulse pounding action on nearly every page. It’s fast paced to the extreme, with no down time at all. If you’re looking for a quick, exciting read then you need look no further!

What stands out most about Matthews’ debut is the fast-paced action. At almost every turn the plot is being moved forward, important things are happening, action is taking place. To call the pacing breakneck would not be off the mark. It starts quickly and doesn’t let up until the final page. Not everyone is a fan of quick pacing, but if you like your novels with a ton of action then this is one for you. In addition to the excellent pacing, I also adored the dialog in this book. Matthews has a gift for banter that is exceptional. This book has a large cast for its short length, and yet I enjoyed each of the characters and felt like they were unique and distinguishable. That takes a good deal of skill to accomplish. The magic and setting are also intriguing. I’m hoping - and given the plot, this seems quite likely - to learn even more about the various ways magic can be used in subsequent books. For The First of Shadows, however, we’re treated not only to an interesting magic system, but to some cinematic uses of that magic. Here’s another place where Matthews’ writing shines: in crafting those cinematic action sequences. You’re on the edge of your seat with these, and they work so well with the quick pacing of the story. Cinematic writing, witty dialog, intense pacing, there’s a lot to like in this debut!

There were, however, a few weaknesses as well. I’ve already mentioned that this book crammed a fairly large cast into a small package. I’m amazed that Matthews managed this and no characters felt cheated or shorted. However, I do think there are probably too many viewpoints. While the multiple viewpoints probably keep the pacing frenetic, it also results in never quite feeling like you settle into a plotline. Cutting two or three of the viewpoints would have allowed for a tighter focus and I think that could have made the novel even better. I also would have liked to have seen a little more substance to the world building. Again, this is probably down to the brevity of the novel. Finally, there were a few tropey sort of phrases throughout, such as, “this was a man used to giving orders - and having them obeyed.” 

The First of Shadows is a really good book with cinematic style, great dialog, frenetic pacing throughout, and an intriguing magic system. It’s sure to appeal to fans of Brandon Sanderson’s Mistborn series or Will Wight’s Cradle series. Its weaknesses mostly come from being short. I’m eagerly anticipating the sequel.

Review by

All reviews for Deck Matthews's The Riven Realm series


The First of Shadows
The Riven Realm: Book 1
8.5

How do you kill a shadow? As a raging storm descends on the Blasted Coast, the crippled young rigger, Caleb Rusk, meets a stranger on the road. Little does he know that the [...]


Dust of the Darkness
The Riven Realm: Book 2
8.0

Fleeing the ruins of his broken life, Caleb Rusk arrives in the sleepy village of Timberford. But when a series of brutal and vicious attacks stir the community into a terr [...]


A Shattering of Glass
The Riven Realm: Book 3
8.5

For Shade, returning to Taralius is like a homecoming she never wanted. She soon finds that old relationships are changed and past contacts have turned sour. Worse yet, a b [...]

15+

The First of Shadows reader reviews

8.5/10 from 1 reviews

Write a reader review

There are currently no reader reviews for this book. Why not be the first?

Your rating out of 10

Books you may also enjoy

The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms

by NK Jemisin

Yeine Darr is an outcast from the barbarian north. But when her mother dies under mysterious circumstances, she is summoned to the majestic city of Sky - a palace above the [...]

Series: The Inheritance Trilogy: Book 1
Published: 2010

Score: 106

Our rating: 10.0 | 6 positive reader reviews

15+

The Raven Tower

by Ann Leckie

For centuries the kingdom of Iraden has been protected by a god known as the Raven. But in their hour of need, the Raven speaks nothing to its people. It is into this unres [...]

Series: NA
Published: 2019

Score: 102

Our rating: 10.0 | 2 positive reader reviews

15+

Nevernight

by Jay Kristoff

Nevernight is the first in an epic new fantasy series from the New York Times bestselling author, Jay Kristoff.In a land where three suns almost never [...]

Series: The Nevernight Chronicle #1
Published: 2016

Score: 100

Our rating: 10.0 | 0 positive reader reviews

15+

Touch of Iron

by Timandra Whitecastle

Is the Living Blade real or just a legend? With it... Prince Bashan could win back his kingdom. Master Telen Diaz can free himself of the burden from his past. Owen Smith s [...]

Series: The Living Blade: Book 1
Published: 2016

Score: 100

Our rating: 10.0 | 0 positive reader reviews

15+