The Shadow Throne by Django Wexler

(9.0/10) A masterpiece of flintlock fantasy.

One of the most enjoyable books I read in 2014 (though published in 2013) was The Thousand Names by Django Wexler. I had Wexler’s name around the traps for a little while, and the book had popped up as a recommended title in my regular searches through Amazon for something new to read. It’s brilliant combination of character-driven story amidst a burgeoning grand epic fantasy ticked all the right boxes for fans of Glen Cook and Steven Erikson – albeit, with muskets and canon.

Several months have passed since I finished The Thousand Names, and I even inadvertently found myself several months on from having started the sequel, The Shadow Throne – paused for what reason I don’t know, though I suspect I just ran out of time. According to my Kindle, I picked back up only 10% or so into the book, and even with that distortion, within a few per cent I was back into the thick of another brilliant story by Wexler – proof positive of just how enjoyable this book was.

The Shadow Throne is a wonderful sequel, full of the right amount of new characters and stories woven into existing lives and story. In some ways, I actually enjoyed this book more, thanks to the introduction of Raesinia Orboan, and her jaunts into the academic part of town, where all the university students cluster to rage and rant about the inherent inadequacies of one political system or another. For history buffs, you’ll probably feel quite at home, especially if you’re a fan of the French Revolution. It’s been far too long since I studied the topic, but even I could feel the tell-tale hints of French revolution seeping into the story – and it makes it all the more richer for its hints of historical accuracy. The inevitable revolution is so enthralling, the historically-minded reader will feel a tug towards one side of the equation or another (turns out, I’m a bit of a monarchist).

The wonderful story weave that Wexler performs to bring everything (seemingly) together by the end of the book is magnificent, and never once bears the taint of “contrivance” – a sure-fire way for me to immediately lose interest in a book. But despite that, I still finished the book wondering who to trust – and considering how black and white many of the characters are portrayed; this is a true testament to Wexler’s writing. For there is no black and white – not really, not when there is so much at play in the world, and so many points of view in a religiously-fervent, anti-magic world. The third book is sure to be a thriller, for there will be a lot of characters that I have come to adore facing difficult decisions – decisions I am inherently going to disagree with, causing me to rethink my feelings.

Truly, Django Wexler is writing a masterpiece of flintlock fantasy that is exceedingly close to transcending its genre-identification and becoming an epic piece of fantasy. To so richly capture the lives of fictional creations, and to make me care about them making “morally right” decisions is proof of Wexler’s mastery of this art form – add to that my increasing love of magic and muskets, and The Shadow Throne is easily one of the most enjoyable books I’ve read in years.

Review by

15+

The Shadow Throne reader reviews

9/10 from 1 reviews

Write a reader review

There are currently no reader reviews for this book. Why not be the first?

Your rating out of 10

All reviews for Django Wexler's The Shadow Campaigns series

The Penitent Damned

The Shadow Campaigns written by Django Wexler

Alex is a master thief, with dark magic to give her an edge. When she goes up against Duke Orlanko's Concordat secret police, though, she may have taken on more than sh [...]

Published: 0000

Our rating: 8.0 | positive reader reviews

15+

The Thousand Names

The Shadow Campaigns #1 written by Django Wexler

The King of Vordan is dying, and his daughter, Raesinia, is destined to become the first Queen in centuries – and a ripe target for the ambitious men who seek to cont [...]

Published: 0000

Our rating: 8.7 | positive reader reviews

15+

The Shadow Throne

The Shadow Campaigns #2 written by Django Wexler

The King of Vordan is dying, and his daughter, Raesinia, is destined to become the first Queen in centuries. But politics knows no loyalties, especially for Duke Orlanko, M [...]

Published: 2014

Our rating: 9.0 | positive reader reviews

15+

The Price of Valour

The Shadow Campaigns #3 written by Django Wexler

In the wake of the King's death, war has come to Vordan. The new queen, Raesinia, is nearly powerless as the government tightens its grip and assassins threaten her lif [...]

Published: 2015

Our rating: 9.0 | positive reader reviews

15+

The Guns of Empire

The Shadow Campaigns #4 written by Django Wexler

As the roar of the guns subsides and the smoke of battle clears, the country of Vordan is offered a fragile peace... After their shattering defeats at the hands of brillian [...]

Published: 2016

Our rating: 9.0 | positive reader reviews

15+

The Infernal Battalion

The Shadow Campaigns #5 written by Django Wexler

The Beast, the ancient demon imprisoned beneath the fortress-city of Elysium for a thousand years, has been loosed on the world. It absorbs mind after mind, spreading like [...]

Published: 2017

Our rating: 8.0 | positive reader reviews

15+

More Django Wexler reviews

John Golden: Freelance Debugger

by Django Wexler

John Golden is a debugger: he goes inside the computer systems of his corporate clients to exterminate the gremlins, sprites, and other fairies that take up residence. But [...]

Series: NA
Published: 2017

Score: 85

Our rating: 8.5 | 0 positive reader reviews

12+

The Forbidden Library

by Django Wexler

Late one night Alice Creighton hears her father having an argument with a fairy – a snarling, bald beast with warts and needle-like teeth. The next day her father dis [...]

Series: NA
Published: 2014

Score: 90

Our rating: 9.0 | 0 positive reader reviews

12+

Books you may also enjoy

The Judging Eye

by R Scott Bakker

The Three Seas are on the march under the leadership of Anasûrimbor Khellus. Khellus has spent these last twenty years conquering the various nations and forming the [...]

Series: The Aspect Emperor: Book 1
Published: 2009

Score: 101

Our rating: 10.0 | 1 positive reader reviews

15+

Once Walked With Gods

by James Barclay

The elves have fled to Calius, seeking to escape the overwhelming power of the demonic Garonin. A desperate last stand in their own dimension saved the race, at the cost of [...]

Series: Elves Trilogy: Book 1
Published: 2010

Score: 97

Our rating: 9.7 | 0 positive reader reviews

15+

Breach Zone

by Myke Cole

The Great Reawakening has left Latent people with a stark choice: either use their newfound magical powers in the service of the government, or choose the path of the Selfe [...]

Series: Shadow Ops series: Book 3
Published: 2014

Score: 95

Our rating: 9.5 | 0 positive reader reviews

15+

The Divine Cities Trilogy

by Robert Jackson Bennett

A special omnibus edition, collecting all three books of Robert Jackson Bennett’s acclaimed Divine Cities trilogy in a single volume. &nbs [...]

Series: The Divine Cities trilogy #1 - #3
Published: 2018

Score: 95

Our rating: 9.5 | 0 positive reader reviews

15+