Have Glyphs Will Travel by Edward M Erdelac


Book of the Year 2011 (see all)

The Merkabah Rider series by Edward M. Erdelac is unlike anything I have read before. It is a collection of Weird Western episodic novellas telling the story of a man named Rider as he tries to stop his former mentor from destroying the world. Have Glyphs Will Travel is the third book, containing episodes #9 to #13, and in this book things do not go well for the Rider in these episodes. At all.

Episode #9 - The Long Sabbath - This episode starts the book with a bang, as the Rider's enemies come after him with an undead legion. For those who have had a lengthy break between books 2 and 3, this episode does a great job of reintroducing you to the world of the Merkabah Rider while subtly expanding on the magic and lore. One of my favourite episodes to date in the whole series.

Episode #10 - The War Prophet - For all the fun that was had in the previous episode, this episode provides us with equal amounts of back story. The information is fascinating, and vital to the rest of the series, but it really slows down the pace of the story. It is not without its fireworks though with Erdelac ramping things up for a high octane ending full of huge revelations.

Episodes #11 and #12 - The Mules of Mazzikim and The Man Called Other - I'm putting these two episodes together because they cover a single narrative arc. The Rider can't stop thinking about the succubus Nehema and sets out on a mission to rescue her from her captives. It's a trap, the Rider knows it's a trap, but he walks into it willing to pay the consequences. And he does. They are two of the most gripping episodes in the series, and boy do they deliver some heavy gut punches to the Rider.

Episode #13 - The Fire King Triumphant - Wow. Just wow. I know the previous 12 episodes have been building towards this moment, but it still managed to take me by surprise. The Rider finally arrives in Tombstone but not all is what it seems. The tension builds and builds until it snaps, and with that snap comes the terrifying minions of the E̶l̶d̶e̶r̶ Outer Gods seemingly straight from the Necronomicron. This is by far my favourite episode of the series so far.

Erdelac mixes the Wild West with Jewish Mysticism, Catholicism, American Indian religion, a little Chinese religion, and a lot of Lovecraftian goodness. This is so different to the stuff I normally read, but Erdelac's writing is so good that I can't help but race through episode with a big grin on my face. The Rider is awesome character, and I'm a little sad that the next book will our last adventure together.

Review by

Our interview with Edward M Erdelac

Edward M. Erdelac is the author of nine novels, including the acclaimed Lovecraftian/weird western series Merkabah Rider and Andersonville. His fiction has appeared in dozens of anthologies and periodicals including most rece [...]

Read interview


All reviews for Edward M Erdelac's Tales of a High Planes Drifter series

Merkabah Rider

by Edward M Erdelac

The last of an ancient order of Jewish mystics capable of extraplanar travel, The Merkabah Rider roams a demon haunted American West in search of his renegade teacher. But [...]

Series: Tales of a High Planes Drifter: Book 1
Published: 2009

Score: 80

Our rating: 8.0 | positive reader reviews


The Mensch with No Name

by Edward M Erdelac

The Merkabah Rider continues his journey across the American Southwest of 1880 in search of the renegade teacher who destroyed his mystic Jewish order in the second volume [...]

Series: Tales of a High Planes Drifter: Book 2
Published: 0000

Score: 88

Our rating: 8.8 | positive reader reviews


Have Glyphs Will Travel

by Edward M Erdelac

 The Rider and Kabede must rally a US Cavalry troop against an army of the undead lead by three of Adon's renegade riders if they are to survive The Long Sabbath. [...]

Series: Tales of a High Planes Drifter: Book 3
Published: 2011

Score: 90

Our rating: 9.0 | positive reader reviews


More Edward M Erdelac reviews


by Edward M Erdelac

Georgia, 1864. Camp Sumter, aka Andersonville, has earned a reputation as an open sewer of sadistic cruelty and terror where death may come at any minute. But as the Union [...]

Series: NA
Published: 2015

Score: 95

Our rating: 9.5 | 0 positive reader reviews


Have Glyphs Will Travel reader reviews

9/10 from 1 reviews

Write a reader review

There are currently no reader reviews for this book. Why not be the first?

Your rating out of 10

Books you may also enjoy

Perdido Street Station

by China Mieville

The metropolis of New Crobuzon sprawls at the centre of its own bewildering world. Humans and mutants and arcane races throng the gloom beneath its chimneys, where the rive [...]

Series: New Crobuzon: Book 1
Published: 2000

Score: 102

Our rating: 9.8 | 4 positive reader reviews


The Anubis Gates

by Tim Powers

Brendan Doyle is a twentieth-century English professor who travels back to 1810 London to attend a lecture given by English romantic poet Samuel Taylor Coleridge. This is a [...]

Series: NA
Published: 1983

Score: 96

Our rating: 9.5 | 1 positive reader reviews


The Difference Engine

by William Gibson and Bruce Sterling

The computer age has arrived a century ahead of time with Charles Babbage's perfection of his Analytical Engine. The Industrial Revolution, supercharged by the developm [...]

Series: NA
Published: 1990

Score: 92

Our rating: 9.2 | 0 positive reader reviews


The Scar

by China Mieville

A colossal fantasy of incredible diversity and spellbinding imagination. A human cargo bound for servitude in exile... A pirate city hauled across the oceans... A hidden mi [...]

Series: New Crobuzon: Book 2
Published: 2002

Score: 93

Our rating: 9.2 | 1 positive reader reviews