Glen Cook

Glen Cook portrait image to appear alongside the Glen Cook biography.

Glen Cook was born on the 9th July 1944 and is an American writer of science fiction and fantasy novels.

Cook first began writing in high school, providing the occasional article for the school newspaper. After high school he spent time in the United States Navy before working full time at a General Motors assembly plant. It was while he was at GM that Cook began writing in earnest, producing as many as three books a year. Outside of writing he is an avid stamp collector and enjoys watching the Cardinals play baseball.

Cook's work is known for its realism, Steven Erikson once said that Cook was responsible for single-handedly changing the field of fantasy by removing the stereotypes and cliches that were previously inherant in the genre, replacing them with real, human characters and believable situations. Erikson also went on to say that the Dread Empire trilogy was the biggest influence on his own writing with its grim reality and historical complexity.

Cook was able to call upon his own experiences in the US Navy when writing The Black Company series, making sure that the military characters behaved as they would in real life.

Glen Cook books reviewed


Glen Cook writes both science fiction and fantasy books; below is a selection of his best and best known fantasy works.

The Black Company

  • The Black Company - Books of the North (1984)
    Darkness wars with darkness as the hard-bitten men of the Black Company take their pay and do what they must. They bury their doubts with their dead. Then comes the prophecy: The White Rose has been reborn, somewhere, to embody good once more...
  • Shadows Linger - Books of the North (1984)
    Mercenary soldiers in the service of the Lady, the Black Company stands against the rebels of the White Rose. They are tough men, proud of honoring their contracts. The Lady is evil, but so, too, are those who falsely profess to follow the White Rose, reincarnation of a centuries-dead heroine. Yet now some of the Company have discovered that the mute girl they rescued and sheltered is truly the White Rose reborn. Now there may be a path to the light, even for such as they. If they can survive it.
  • The White Rose - Books of the North (1985)
    The climactic battles between the Lady, an evil sorceress, and the White Rose are overshadowed by the resurrection of the Dominator.
  • Shadow Games - Books of the South (1989)
  • Dreams of Steel - Books of the South (1990)
    Croaker has fallen and, following the Company's disastrous defeat at Dejagore, Lady is one of the few survivors--determined to avenge the Company and herself against the Shadowmasters, no matter what the cost. But in assembling a new fighting force from the dregs and rabble of Taglios, she finds herself offered help by a mysterious, ancient cult of murder--competent, reliable, and apparently committed to her goals. Meanwhile, far away, Shadowmasters conspire against one another and the world, weaving dark spells that reach into the heart of Taglios. And in a hidden grove, a familiar figure slowly awakens to find himself the captive of an animated, headless corpse. Mercilessly cutting through Taglian intrigues, Lady appears to be growing stronger every day. All that disturbs her are the dreams which afflict her by night--dreams of carnage, of destruction, of universal death, unceasing...
  • Bleak Seasons - Books of the Glittering Stone (1996)
    Having risked their lives and souls to capture the fortress of Stormgard, a band of weary soldiers known as the Company witnesses their commander's descent into madness and await the reemergence of their ancient gods.
  • She Is The Darkness - Books of the Glittering Stone (1997)
  • Water Sleeps - Books of the Glittering Stone (1999)
  • Soldiers Live - Books of the Glittering Stone (2000)

Dread Empire

  • The Fire in His Hands (1984)
  • With Mercy Toward None (1985)
  • A Shadow of All Night Falling (1979)
  • October's Baby (1980)
  • All Darkness Met (1980)
  • Reap the East Wind (1987)
  • An Ill Fate Marshalling (1988)