She is the Darkness by Glen Cook (Books of the Glittering Stone)

9/10 This book doesn't deliver as much despair as previous volumes.

The seventh novel in Glen Cook’s Black Company series, ‘She is the Darkness’, picks right up where ‘Bleak Seasons’ left off. If you’re reading it from the omnibus, it’s just a flip of a page, and you can convince yourself you’re reading one big book. That sometimes makes it hard to review, because a) it’s a continuing story and b) there wasn't ever any time between reading to separate one story from another.

She is the Darkness is the battle for Overlook, against Longshadow, the Howler and Mogaba. We’re not jumping around in time like we were in the last book, but Murgen still has the ability to go see through time what happened here and what happened there. It’s a valuable resource for the Black Company Annalist, because it means he can go get all the information he needs to write a complete account of the Black Company’s trials.

It also means we get to see everything that is going on in a world where multiple enemies are working on different fronts, and the Old Man, Croaker, has to try and guess all their moves.

Cook writes with the same gritty realism we’ve come to love by this stage, but this book doesn’t deliver as much despair as previous volumes. There is a lot of angst for Murgen as he deals with secrets revealed and his mounting responsibilities, but similarly the action hikes up a notch as the Black Company and their army moves through the Pass and on to Overlook.

This is the second book of The Glittering Stone segment of Cook’s Black Company novels, and as such it’s very much a book that moves the story along. What you would have imagined to have been major landmarks are reached and passed by with very little commotion in favour of further goals that become apparent as you read. We reach a climax and then walk straight on by to somewhere else.

I actually really enjoy that aspect of Cook’s writing. Reading a book that finishes on the climax you predicted can become a little … well, predictable. Having an author circumvent those expectations is refreshing, and taking the focus away from blood and death is always appealing in a world here some fantasy authors think all they have to do is set a thousand orcs against a thousand humans and you’ve got a story.

Yes, you probably want to have read all he books prior to reading this one. But when you get here, you are definitely going to enjoy yourself.

Review by


Glen Cook's Books of the Glittering Stone series

Bleak Seasons

Books of the Glittering Stone

She is the Darkness

Books of the Glittering Stone

Water Sleeps

Books of the Glittering Stone

She is the Darkness reader reviews

8.5/10 from 1 reviews

Write a reader review

There are currently no reader reviews for this book. Why not be the first?

Your rating out of 10

More reviews of Glen Cook books

  • Dreams of Steel (Chronicles of the Black Company: Books of the South, Book 2) 9/10
  • Shadow Games (Chronicles of the Black Company: Books of the South, Book 1) 9/10
  • The White Rose (Chronicles of the Black Company: Books of the North, Book 3) 9/10
  • Shadows Linger (Chronicles of the Black Company: Books of the North, Book 2) 9/10
  • The Black Company (Chronicles of the Black Company: Books of the North, Book 1) 9/10
  • The Silver Spike (Chronicles of the Black Company: Barrowlands, Book 1) 9/10
  • Port of Shadows (Chronicles of the Black Company) 6/10

Books you may also enjoy

The Judging Eye

R Scott Bakker

A Little Hatred

Joe Abercrombie

Once Walked With Gods

James Barclay

Breach Zone

Myke Cole

The Divine Cities Trilogy

Robert Jackson Bennett

Shadow Ops: Control Point

Myke Cole

The Poppy War

R F Kuang

The Winter Road

Adrian Selby

Following reviews

The Dragon's Path

Daniel Abraham

Forging of a Knight

Hugo V Negron

Embers of an Age

Tim Marquitz

Turn The Tides Gently

Matt Wingett


Rob Thurman

The Walking Dead: Rise of the Governor

Jay Bonansinga and Robert Kirkman

Seasons of War

Daniel Abraham

Land of Hope and Glory

Geoffrey Wilson