The Wandering Fire by Guy Gavriel Kay (The Fionavar Tapestry: Book 2)

9/10 Arthur Pendragon breathes new life into the trilogy.

The Wandering Fire is the second volume in Guy Gavriel Kay's trilogy The Fionavar Tapestry. The five travellers are once again called back to the First of All Worlds to play out their given roles.

The Wandering Fire is set six months after the events in The Summer Tree. Back in Toronto, Jennifer is expecting the god Rakoth Maugrim's child and she and Paul cross back to Fionavar after being persued by Galadan, the Wolf Lord. Jennifer gives birth to a young boy called Darien, the boy who will have to "take the Longest Road" of any child ever born.

Kim has a long awaited dream and the path forward becomes clearer. After travelling to England, Kim enlists the help of Arthur Pendragon. Dave and the Dalrei are finding life on the plains difficult in the midst of a terrible winter, wolves and urgach's attack and they are hard pressed to hold them back.

Shalhassan and Sharra, of Cathal, join forces with Brennin to fight against Rakoth and his minions. Upon discovering the source of the unnatural winter, a party sets forth to the cursed aisle of Cedar Sedat to break the Cauldron of Khath Meigol to fight the source of this power and to free the land of its evil.

And the Wolflord replied, "For nothing else am I here, though I will kill the girl when you are dead. Remember who I am: the childre of gods have knelt to wash my feet. You are nothing yet, Pwyll Twiceborn, and you will be twice before I let you come into your force."
The Wandering Fire: The Warrior

An entertaining addition to the trilogy, the characters are evolving and their roles become clearer. The introduction of Arthur Pendragon breathes new life into the story and the story builds towards its conclusion.

Review by

2 positive reader review(s) in total for the The Fionavar Tapestry series


Guy Gavriel Kay's The Fionavar Tapestry series

The Summer Tree

The Fionavar Tapestry: Book 1

The Wandering Fire

The Fionavar Tapestry: Book 2

The Darkest Road

The Fionavar Tapestry: Book 3

The Wandering Fire reader reviews

8.5/10 from 1 reviews

Write a reader review

There are currently no reader reviews for this book. Why not be the first?

Your rating out of 10

More reviews of Guy Gavriel Kay books

Books you may also enjoy

The 10,000 Doors of January

Alix E Harrow

The Unspoken Name

A K Larkwood

The Weirdstone of Brisingamen

Alan Garner


William Horwood

The Dark is Rising Sequence

Susan Cooper

Three Hearts and Three Lions

Poul Anderson


Susan Cooper

Crow's Revenge

Marcus Alexander

Following reviews

The Colour Of Magic

Terry Pratchett

Nine Princes In Amber

Roger Zelazny

The Power That Preserves

Stephen Donaldson

The Darkest Road

Guy Gavriel Kay

Wolf In Shadow

David Gemmell

The Gunslinger

Stephen King