Rise Against by Hailey Edwards

(9.4/10) This is definitely the best book of the Foundling series

Luce: ‘Didn’t your mother teach you to wait until you’re invited in to enter a room?’

Santiago: ‘No. My mother ate one of my siblings because she wasn’t a fan of uneven numbers.’

After what felt like a slight wobble in Death Knell, this is a blinding return to form. Fourth and penultimate book in the Foundling Series, this instalment gives us a Luce who seems ready to be herself, finally reconciled with who she is as both human and charun. She’s found her own way to deal with each aspect of her character, including the ever dangerous remnant of Conquest, always eager to resume control. Luce has been knocked down hard by all the revelations, betrayals, and losses, but this book is about her finding a sense of peace with it all. And there’s a reason for that beyond the simple passing of time. There are no more closed eyes, there’s no more holding back. It feels like the calm before the storm. Like the end is coming…

‘Believing you’re flawed, broken, or wrong was ten times easier than trusting you were perfect just the way you were or whole or right. Bad things always stick with us longer than the good. I don’t know if that’s a self-esteem problem or a human problem, but it’s true.’

Outside of the fact that Hailey Edwards has created a stunningly original world and set of characters, what this book proves is that she can pull it all together to make something truly memorable. It’s a story with multiple levels of connection, but its foundation is all heart. That this instalment goes right back to the beginning, to the people who matter the most to Luce, was exactly right. No, more than that, it was goddamn exceptional. Without giving too much away, some much needed conversations were had and a few very important things resolved. Which was to be expected you might imagine, especially as things get closer to the end. But the WAY it was done. Brilliant.

Each new direction, every twist, all the feels had me grinning like crazy.

This book is funny, with the kind of snark that has you laughing out loud. The way it forms the basis of so many of the relationships in the series is perfectly realised, the deep emotional connections so many characters would struggle to verbalise revealed through humour and bitching. Distance closed as effectively by a sarcastic comment as some big life-saving action. It makes you realise how much you love these characters, how much their happiness means to you. These quiet scenes are just as affecting, just as important as the crazy battles and the shock twists. It’s not something I always get from UF, only Ilona Andrews’ Kate Daniels series has a similar emotional hit. Of course, that just makes it all the more stressful to imagine what comes next, what happens when world ending war puts every single character in danger. I’m nervy as hell about it. At the same time, I can’t wait.

Now, if you haven’t read this series before, don’t start here. This isn’t something you can just pick up anywhere and get stuck in. There’s too much emotional build up, never mind the sheer amount of crucial shit that’s happened before this point. Start with Bayou Born and be part of Luce’s journey. She’s the kind of hero you can’t help but love, a real person dumped into all manner of trouble, a fighter who will do anything to save those she loves. I’m with her every step of the way and you will be too.

This is definitely the best book of the series... with just one more to go. I can't imagine at this point how it can be bettered, but I trust in Hailey Edwards to keep surprising me.

Review by

15+

Rise Against reader reviews

9.4/10 from 1 reviews

Write a reader review

There are currently no reader reviews for this book. Why not be the first?

Your rating out of 10

All reviews for Hailey Edwards's The Foundling Series series

Bone Driven

The Foundling Series #2 written by Hailey Edwards

The bayou is burning, the battle is just beginning - and Luce Boudreau is smack in the middle of no-man's land . . .Life as a cop in Canton Town, Mississippi, is [...]

Published: 2018

Our rating: 9.0 | positive reader reviews

12+

Death Knell

The Foundling Series #3 written by Hailey Edwards

Luce is back in the third book of The Foundling, the bestselling fantasy series perfect for fans of Shannon Mayer, Jenn Stark and the Sookie Stackhouse novelsWa [...]

Published: 2018

Our rating: 7.8 | positive reader reviews

12+

Rise Against

The Foundling Series #4 written by Hailey Edwards

Luce has come, literally, through hell, and now she's trying to pick up the pieces. Earth is getting ready for the war to end all wars: it's angels vs demons and Lu [...]

Published: 2019

Our rating: 9.4 | positive reader reviews

15+

Books you may also enjoy

Ninth House

by Leigh Bardugo

Galaxy 'Alex' Stern is the most unlikely member of Yale's freshman class. Raised in the Los Angeles hinterlands by a hippie mom, Alex dropped out of school earl [...]

Series: NA
Published: 2019

Score: 96

Our rating: 9.6 | 0 positive reader reviews

15+

Blight Marked

by Josh Erikson

Gabe escaped the Ether with the ultimate prize, and he thought that meant he was done with deadly cosmic games. But the nightmares infesting his life have different plans, [...]

Series: Ethereal Earth #3
Published: 2020

Score: 94

Our rating: 9.4 | 0 positive reader reviews

15+

Three Parts Dead

by Max Gladstone

A god has died, and it's up to Tara, first-year associate in the international necromantic firm of Kelethres, Albrecht, and Ao, to bring Him back to life before His cit [...]

Series: NA
Published: 2012

Score: 90

Our rating: 9.0 | 0 positive reader reviews

15+

Kraken

by China Mieville

Deep in the research wing of the Natural History Museum is a prize specimen, something that comes along much less often than once in a lifetime: a perfect, and perfectly pr [...]

Series: NA
Published: 0000

Score: 85

Our rating: 8.5 | 0 positive reader reviews

15+