Janny Wurts

Janny Wurts is the author of Traitor's Knot and To Ride Hell's Chasm and twelve other novels, a short story collection, as well as the internationally best selling Empire trilogy, co authored with Raymond E. Feist. Her most recent title in the Wars of Light and Shadow series, Traitor's Knot, culminates more than twenty years of carefully evolved ideas. The cover images on the books, both in the US and abroad, are her own paintings, depicting her vision of characters and setting.

Janny Wurts books reviewed


Arc I

  • The Curse of the Mistwraith (1993)
    The world of Athera lives in eternal fog, its skies obscured by the malevolent Mistwraith. Only the combined powers of two half-brothers can challenge the Mistwraith's stranglehold: Arithon, Master of Shadow and Lysaer, Lord of Light. Arithon and Lysaer will find that they are inescapably bound inside a pattern of events dictated by their own deepest convictions. Yet there is more at stake than one battle with the Mistwraith - as the sorcerers of the Fellowship of Seven know well. For between them the half-brothers hold the balance of the world, its harmony and its future, in their hands.

Arc II

  • Ships of Merior (1994)
    The half-brothers Arithon, Master of Shadow, and Lysaer, Lord of Light, have defeated the Mistwraith and dispersed the fogs that smothered Athera's skies. But their victory comes at a high price: the Mistwraith has set them at odds under a powerful curse of vengeance. The two princes are locked in deadly enmity, with the fates of nations and the balance of the world's mystical powers entangled in their feud. Arithon, forced out of hiding, finds himself hounded by Lysaer and his mighty army. He must take to his natural element - the seas in order to evade pursuit and steal the initiative. However, his efforts are impeded by outside magical factions, not to mention a drunken prophet sent to safeguard his life, but who seems determined to wreck his cause by misadventure.
  • Warhost of Vastmark (1995)

Arc III - Alliance of Light

  • Fugitive Prince (1997)
  • Grand Conspiracy (1999)
  • Peril's Gate (2001)
  • Traitor's Knot (2004)
  • Stormed Fortress (November 2007)

Arc IV - Sword of the Canon

  • Initiate's Trial (TBA)
  • Destiny's Conflict (TBA)

The Cycle of Fire Trilogy

  • Stormwarden (1984)
  • Keeper of the Keys (1988)
  • Shadowfane (1988)

Empire Trilogy

  • Daughter of the Empire (1987) - with Raymond E. Feist
  • Servant of the Empire (1990) - with Raymond E. Feist
  • Mistress of the Empire (1992) - with Raymond E. Feist

Standalone novels

  • Sorcerer's Legacy (1989)
  • Master of Whitestorm (1992)
  • To Ride Hell's Chasm (2002)


Critical acclaim

Astonishingly original and compelling. Raymond E. Feist

It ought to be illegal for one person to have so much talent. Stephen Donaldson