iBoy by Kevin Brooks

(9.1/10) Fascinating, clever and involving, in short it is everything you could possibly wish for in a book.

Fantasy Book Review Young-Adult Book of the Month, November 2010

iBoy, by Branford Boase Award winning author Kevin Brooks, first published by Puffin on July 1, 2010.

For Tom Harvey, it was just another dull, routine Friday after school. That is, until a mobile phone hurtled through the air and hit him squarely on the head, embedding fragments in his brain. Tom now has powers, and with power comes knowledge – and a choice. Seek revenge on the violent gangs that rule his estate and assaulted his friend Lucy, or keep quiet?

iBoy is amazing! It is fascinating, clever and involving, in short it is everything you could possibly wish for in a book. Suitable for adults, both young and old, its greatest appeal will lie with those who are fans of films such as The Matrix and Tron.

This is a book for the 21st century, featuring sophisticated mobile phones and the ultimate technology. Tom is plunged into a nightmare world of circuits, flashing images, second sight and high intelligence. Most would lose their minds but Tom handles it all as if he were un-human, a cyborg. iBoy is a fantasy / sci-fi drama that is out of this world, an amazing novel that grips you from the start and does not let you go until the very end. If anything it gets better the further the reader goes.

Fantasy Book Review recommends that you read iBoy as soon as you possibly can.

Review by

4 positive reader review(s) for iBoy

12+

iBoy reader reviews

from UK

It's amazing!!!! I love it! I can read it so many times! What age restrictions is it?!

from US

This book is amazing and I love every single thing about this book. Honestly, I don't like reading books and I don't read books very often. Even if I did, I would stop after couple of pages but when I read this book, it made me wanna keep reading it and find out what happens next. If you haven't read this book and just happen to stumble upon this website, then I suggest you read it. You won't regret it.

from MN

I LOVED IT I LOVE IT I LOVE IT I LOVED IT I LOVE IT I LOVE IT I LOVED IT I LOVE IT I LOVE IT I like it is the best book ever it was sad happy funny i loved it.

from Saskatchewan

Amazing book, loved the plot, had a facinating time reading this. Loved the fact that the guy got the idea of iBoy since there's an ipod stuck in his head (hahaha bad pun huh....) anyways, great book overall.

9.4/10 from 5 reviews

Write a reader review

Your rating out of 10

Books you may also enjoy


Ready Player One

Ernest Cline
9.3/10

Ancillary Justice

Ann Leckie
9.3/10

Inside Straight

George RR Martin
9.0/10

The Martian War

Kevin J Anderson
9.0/10

Zenn Scarlett

Christian Schoon
9.0/10

Vicious

VE Schwab
9.0/10

Ancillary Sword

Ann Leckie
9.0/10

Following reviews


The Lifesong Cycle

Greg Hamerton
8.6/10

Second Sight

Greg Hamerton
8.6/10

The Lion of Cairo

Scott Oden
8.0/10

Dante's Journey

JC Marino
9.4/10

The Dragon Reborn

Robert Jordan
9.2/10

The Dark River

John Twelve Hawks
7.8/10

The Fourth Realm Trilogy

John Twelve Hawks
7.8/10

The Angel Experiment

James Patterson
8.4/10