Crown of Vengeance by Stephen Zimmer

(9.0/10) This reads like a modern day C.S. Lewis and Zimmer manages to pull it all off with great aplomb.

‘Crown of Vengeance’ is the first in the ‘Fires In Eden’ series and begins on an ordinary night in an ordinary Midwestern town in America. Here we meet Janus, Erika, Mershad, Lee, Ryan and many others. These are all ordinary people from different walks of life, students and workers who all share the same disillusionment with their current circumstances and their lives in general. One evening they are all out in various parts of town when they become engulfed in a strange mist. When the mist dissipates they all find themselves looking up into the bright skies of a new, incredible world.

This new world is Ave. Some of the new arrivals find themselves in the lands of the Saxan Kingdom, others in the lands of Onan, one of the tribes of the Five Realms confederation. War is fast approaching as the armies of the powerful and ambitious Unifier strive to wipe out all opposition and thus bringing everyone under one rule. An invasion force is massing and it is not long before a war begins that will be fought on land, sea, in the air and even in places non-physical in nature.

Zimmer has brought us an epic, sweeping fantasy that takes the reader from the modern contemporary world and into a diverse and intriguing new one. I thoroughly enjoyed reading on as the group attempt to adapt to their strange new environment, overcoming fear and uncertainty and coming to terms with their unusual and unique predicament. It really is a case of the old maxim of being careful of what you wish for!

Zimmer displays not only a strong grasp of creating well-developed believable characters but also a superb imagination as his group of people encounter many exotic creatures from Eden. They also meet the mysterious Wanderer who I am sure will pop up again later in the series. All the characters have demons to face and to conquer like Janus who is on a spiritual as much as a physical journey as he is still coping with the loss of his father.

‘Crown of Vengeance’ covers the usual themes of friendship, cooperation, survival, good versus evil but it also deals very well with deeper issues of sovereignty and self- determination. This can be read as your standard fantasy novel but there are much bigger things going on under the surface. I was engrossed as I read about the different people in the new world and their struggle to hold onto their individual identities and cultures in the face of a tyrannical force attempting to subjugate them.

The underdog versus a ruling elite is something that we can all relate to no matter what world you are from and there are plenty of parallels with our own history and culture to keep the reader on their toes. This reads like a modern day C.S. Lewis and Zimmer manages to pull it all off with great aplomb. I cannot wait to read the next in the series.

Published 2009 by Seventh Star Press, ISBN 9780982565612

Review by

Our interview with Stephen Zimmer

Stephen Zimmer is an award-winning author and filmmaker, whose literary works include the epic urban fantasy series The Rising Dawn Saga, as well as the epic medieval fantasy Fires in Eden Series.A regular on the convention c [...]

Read interview


Crown of Vengeance reader reviews

9/10 from 1 reviews

Write a reader review

There are currently no reader reviews for this book. Why not be the first?

Your rating out of 10

All reviews for Stephen Zimmer's Fires in Eden series

Crown of Vengeance

Fires in Eden: Book 1 written by Stephen Zimmer

Strange mists engulf Janus Roland, Erika Laesig, Mershad Shahab, and several others going about their lives in a quiet midwestern town. When the mist dissipates, they all f [...]

Published: 2009

Our rating: 9.0 | positive reader reviews


Dream of Legends

Fires in Eden: Book 2 written by Stephen Zimmer

Unfortunately they have arrived at a time of great unrest and conflict. The assault upon the Kingdom of Saxany and the tribes of the Five Realms ignites as the Unifier&rsqu [...]

Published: 2010

Our rating: 9.0 | positive reader reviews


Spirit of Fire

Fires in Eden: Book 3 written by Stephen Zimmer

Battered by a massive invasion force from Gallea, the tribal people of the Five Realms and their Midragardan allies are being driven eastward, towards the sea, while the Sa [...]

Published: 2012

Our rating: 9.2 | positive reader reviews


More Stephen Zimmer reviews

Chronicles of Ave and Annals of the Rising Dawn

by Stephen Zimmer

Escape into the wonders of Ave in this first collection of short stories featuring the fantastical world from the Fires in Eden Series by Stephen Zimmer.“Into [...]

Series: NA
Published: 0000

Score: 80

Our rating: 8.0 | 0 positive reader reviews


The Exodus Gate

by Stephen Zimmer

Benedict Darwin, host of a popular late night radio show that deals with the paranormal, comes into possession of a virtual reality simulator that turns out to be something [...]

Series: The Rising Dawn Saga: Book 1
Published: 0000

Score: 79

Our rating: 7.9 | 0 positive reader reviews


The Storm Guardians

by Stephen Zimmer

It is a time when the Exiles in the Middle Lands, the An-Ki, and many others are falling under the shadow of the Abyss. Guardians of all forms, great and small, must rise t [...]

Series: The Rising Dawn Saga: Book 2
Published: 2010

Score: 81

Our rating: 8.0 | 1 positive reader reviews


The Seventh Throne

by Stephen Zimmer

The epic saga advances, as the shadows deepen ... Friedrich accompanies the powerful Avatar Enki into the depths of the Abyss. They seek to discover the fate of Erishkegal, [...]

Series: The Rising Dawn Saga: Book 3
Published: 2011

Score: 85

Our rating: 8.5 | 0 positive reader reviews


Books you may also enjoy

The 10,000 Doors of January

by Alix E Harrow

In the early 1900s, a young woman embarks on a fantastical journey of self-discovery after finding a mysterious book in this captivating and lyrical debut. [...]

Series: NA
Published: 2019

Score: 101

Our rating: 10.0 | 1 positive reader reviews


The Unspoken Name

by A K Larkwood

A. K. Larkwood's The Unspoken Name is a stunning debut fantasy about an orc priestess turned wizard's assassin.What if you knew how and when you wi [...]

Series: The Serpent Gates #1
Published: 2020

Score: 101

Our rating: 10.0 | 1 positive reader reviews


The Weirdstone of Brisingamen

by Alan Garner

When Colin and Susan are pursued by eerie creatures across Alderley Edge, they are saved by the Wizard. He takes them into the caves of Fundindelve, where he watches over t [...]

Series: NA
Published: 1960

Score: 98

Our rating: 9.7 | 1 positive reader reviews



by William Horwood

Unites Arthur, a little boy abandoned many years ago in a grim hospital in northern England, with Esther, a radiantly intelligent young girl who is suffering from cerebral [...]

Series: NA
Published: 1987

Score: 100

Our rating: 9.6 | 4 positive reader reviews