Toll the Hounds by Steven Erikson (A Tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen: Book 8)

(10.0/10) It seems like everything I knew about magic and heroes has been redefined.

So here we are for the eighth time and it just gets better and better. I found this book to be a bit less frenetic than The Bonehunters as it seems like Mr Erikson is getting things organised for the final push. But that is by no means a reason to believe the action slows down. I guess things just seem more in control since we don’t spend any real time with the Malazan army.

The main events center around Darujistan, and more specifically around Kruppe. There is a dialogue throughtout the story of observances and asides that all come from Kruppe’s thoughts, so while we still don’t see his true nature, we see he is much more than meets the eye since he is even commenting on events in other story lines he does not seem involved in, as well as telling stories around the fire with elder gods.
And as always the unexpected twist is right there grabbing your attention. I mean who would have ever expected Karsa Orlong to find a friend and ally worthy of his respect? We all knew who Traveller was but when Anamander Rake finally called him by name it still felt shocking. And what’s this stuff about Kallor having a heart and just being a victim of circumstance? You can’t make me feel sorry for the guy who killed millions in his power struggles with the gods. Besides, he killed Whiskeyjack, and it will take more than 6 books in between for me to forget that.

Which brings me into what keeps me coming back to this series, its strength and boldness. It seems like everything I knew about magic and heroes has been redefined. It’s like the whole fantasy genre has been given a shake and put back down a bit to the left. And as has been shown again and again since that fateful day when Whiskeyjack left us, beloved and seemingly irreplaceable characters die here. But I never dreamed the list of characters we lose this time and can’t wait to see where it takes us.

Review by

3 positive reader review(s) for Toll the Hounds

153 positive reader review(s) in total for the A Tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen series

Our interview with Steven Erikson

Steven Erikson's ongoing fantasy series, the Malazan Book of the Fallen has brought new life and originality into the fantasy genre. Steven Erikson kindly spoke to Fantasy Book Review in September 2009, shortly after the [...]

Read interview

15+

Steven Erikson's A Tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen series


The First Collected Tales of Bauchelain and Korbal Broach

A Tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen
8.5/10

The Wurms of Blearmouth

A Tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen
8.0/10

The Second Collected Tales of Bauchelain & Korbal Broach

A Tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen
7.0/10

Gardens Of The Moon

A Tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen: Book 1
9.2/10

The Crippled God

A Tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen: Book 10
10.0/10

Deadhouse Gates

A Tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen: Book 2
9.2/10

Memories of Ice

A Tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen: Book 3
9.8/10

House Of Chains

A Tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen: Book 4
9.2/10

Midnight Tides

A Tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen: Book 5
10.0/10

The Bonehunters

A Tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen: Book 6
10.0/10

Reaper's Gale

A Tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen: Book 7
10.0/10

Toll the Hounds

A Tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen: Book 8
10.0/10

Dust of Dreams

A Tale of the Malazan Book of the Fallen: Book 9
10.0/10

Toll the Hounds reader reviews

from Michigan

Best book I've ever read, well, there's nothing to add, and beside of George rr M and the bible its a literary wonder. Steven Erikson is THE BEST fantasy author of the 20th and 21st century. And those, who don't give this book more than eight points are blind.

from USA

Interesting the bimodal distribution of reviews for this series. I found it to be the most compelling fantasy I've read in many years. I've finished the series and am going through it again... and I'm doing it for reasons that some complained about - there's a LOT going on. There are a lot of characters, the plot's are vast... and it's often a challenge to stay oriented (especially if you're reading the novels over some period of time). Having said that... there are VERY few authors who can keep a story coherent over so many books. Some authors (Like the excellent Jim Butcher) create series that are connected individual stories... and some (Jordan) try to create an expansive story spanning the series... and inevitably fail to some extent (Jordan could have skipped 4 or 5 mid-story novels and not lost anything). Erikson IMO had a mix of the two approaches and looking back from the final novel I felt he was hugely successful at telling the story of the Bridgeburners, neat and clean it is not... but the story arc is there and it's compelling.

from Nepal

First of all thanks to Steven Erikson for these books. What a gripping tale. Perhaps only A SONG OF ICE AND FIRE comes close to this epic series. I have to say it is a very difficult book to come in terms with. The patience required by the readers to continue reading is appalling. The philosophies projected, the change of heart of immortals... why ideas in every paragraph can be debated... contested. Fantastic book sir! A toast to you!

9.8/10 from 4 reviews

Write a reader review

Your rating out of 10

More Steven Erikson reviews


Forge of Darkness

The Kharkanas Trilogy: Book 1
8.3/10

Rejoice

7.0/10

Books you may also enjoy


Age of Empyre

Michael J Sullivan
10.0/10

Duncton Wood

William Horwood
9.6/10

A Game Of Thrones

George RR Martin
9.5/10

Lord Foul's Bane

Stephen Donaldson
9.5/10

Age of Death

Michael J Sullivan
9.5/10

Assassin's Apprentice

Robin Hobb
9.2/10

Magician

Raymond E Feist
9.0/10

Theft of Swords

Michael J Sullivan
9.0/10

Following reviews


Pandemonium

Daryl Gregory
7.0/10

The House of the Stag

Kage Baker
8.5/10

Dragon in Chains

Daniel Fox
6.5/10

X-isle

Steve Augarde
9.0/10

The Charm of Urizen

Melaine Bryant
8.0/10

Unseen Academicals

Terry Pratchett
9.7/10

Fallen

Lauren Kate
8.4/10

Interregnum

SJA Turney
8.6/10