The Stone of Farewell by Tad Williams (Memory Sorrow and Thorn: Book 2)

9/10 The greatest accolade I can give any book is it makes you want more.

In Osten Ard, the evil of the Storm King covers the land and the country is riven by war. Nature, unbalanced by the tide of evil, slips into a permanent winter. Simon, once a kitchen boy, now a hero hiding in the troll stronghold of Yiquanuc, has prophetic dreams. Only he and his companions can save the land, but to do this he must embark on the second part of his quest... to the Stone of Farewell.

Can a series of three books be called Epic? In the first book you begin to get an understanding of the depth and detail that Williams endeavoured to depict in this world and its inhabitants. In the second book of the series he has amplified this illusive quality abundantly.

There is a maturity and aged feel in the history and lives laid out to the reader. The development of Simon from boy to man can at times be slow but you catch glimpses of the person he will be become.

The second book delves into the history and personality of most the other mains characters, giving them a rounded feel with the notable exception of Miramele. I feel there was a real opportunity missed with this character development. There was no true transformation of Miramele from damsel in distress to heroine of Boadicea propositions.

Williams has written the frustration and resentment that Josua is struggling with in such a way that you can at times feel this with yourself.

The greatest accolade I can give any book is it makes you want more, there was no skimming chapters of the secondary characters to get back to Simon and his odyssey. Sequels can be as good if not better than their predecessors.

There is loss, sorrow and death; but there is hope and bounds forged. Debts will be paid, what is old will pass and what is new will rise. I give The Stone of Farewell by Tad Williams 8.8 out of 10.

Review by

1 positive reader review(s) for The Stone of Farewell

12 positive reader review(s) in total for the Memory Sorrow and Thorn series


Tad Williams's Memory Sorrow and Thorn series

The Dragonbone Chair

Memory Sorrow and Thorn: Book 1

The Stone of Farewell

Memory Sorrow and Thorn: Book 2

To Green Angel Tower

Memory Sorrow and Thorn: Book 3

The Stone of Farewell reader reviews

from USA

This book was amazing. Few authors can make me feel the pain of the loss of a character. Tad Williams, in this book, made me feel this. To say more would be to reveal spoilers. The Stone of Farewell is surprisingly deep, and one of the greatest Fantasy novels in recent memory.

9.4/10 from 2 reviews

Write a reader review

Your rating out of 10

More reviews of Tad Williams books

Books you may also enjoy

The Hero of Ages

Brandon Sanderson

Half a King

Joe Abercrombie

Tymon's Flight

Mary Victoria

Hope and Red

Jon Skovron


John Gwynne

The Ember Blade

Chris Wooding

Twelve Kings

Bradley Beaulieu

The Black God's War

Moses Siregar III

Following reviews

Babylon Steel

Gaie Sebold

The Assassin’s Curse

Cassandra Rose Clarke

To Green Angel Tower

Tad Williams

The Fate of the Dwarves

Markus Heitz


Matt Bone


AM Tuomala


Matthew Sturges


James Lovegrove