Winter by William Horwood

(9.2/10) The journey has been a delight, the characters wonderful and the the story woven beautifully.

Book of the Year 2013 (see all)

Winter is the fourth and final novel in William Horwood's Hyddenworld Quartet.

A savage winter has been unleashed upon the Hyddenworld by an angry Earth. Humans find their way into this secret realm – to destroy all that the storms haven’t undone. The Hydden city of Brum now faces its darkest days; joining its greatest enemy to combat invaders. But ultimately, survival depends on its champions – Jack, Katherine and scrivener Bedwyn Stort. If they can locate a last gem, burning with fire and magic, devastation may be averted. But if the jewel fails to reach Judith, the Shield Maiden, before winter’s end, human and Hyddenkind will pay the price…

The ending of a series should ideally provoke many differing emotions: be it joy, anger, happiness, sadness, disappointment, relief, maybe even simple contentment, possibly even a mix of them all. Ideally it will provide closure, regardless of whether the ending be happy or sad. But it is absolutely vital that the ending of a series leaves the reader feeling something, for if it leaves you feeling no significant emotion then it has really failed in its task.

Winter left me feeling a blend of emotions. There was a sense of happiness, and also a sense of closure without regret as there was little doubt that the story's natural end had been reached. I was also left feeling slightly despondent due to the fact that a book of this nature, with its elements of dystopia (this final book shares themes with Cormac McCarthy's The Road in places) and a book which focuses as it does on the harm that humans do to their environment, is a cautionary tale and that should indeed have a sobering effect on the reader. I was left not being particularly proud to be of my own species. Who needs orcs when you have humans?

But don't let me give the impression that this book is just doom-and-gloom. It isn't, far from it in fact. William Horwood is an author I have long admired and as was also the case within the Duncton Mole books he understands that if things are looking bleak, and the road ahead very dark, he needs to provide light to keep the reader from despair. And the lightness comes in the form of wonderful characters like Bedwyn Stort, Jack, Katherine, Leetha, Barklice, Master Brief and Goodwife Cluckett to name but a few. They all display great friendship, bravery, they share a little laughter in hard times and show no little ingenuity. And it is the characters that stood out for me as I read this series, and the characters and story are something I will remember fondly for a long, long time. I also know that I will re-read the entire series.

Winter is a skilfully written book, the entire series a triumph in storytelling. Not every single thing worked perfectly for me personally but when is that not the case? It is not an easy read, the subject is often traumatic but I hope that all readers will finish book four with the same sense of quiet gratitude and completion that I felt. It was a quartet of books I thoroughly enjoyed reading and I looked forward excitedly to each instalment's yearly publication. If you're a fan of Horwood, or simply a fan of excellent stories, particularly those with a strong ecological theme running through, then I would strongly recommend you read the Hyddenworld books. The journey has been a delight, the characters wonderful and the the story woven beautifully.

Hyddenworld: Winter by William Horwood
Hardback: 448 pages
Macmillan, 05 Dec 2013

Review by


Winter reader reviews

9.2/10 from 1 reviews

Write a reader review

There are currently no reader reviews for this book. Why not be the first?

Your rating out of 10

All reviews for William Horwood's Hyddenworld series


Hyddenworld: Book 1 written by William Horwood

It has lain lost and forgotten for fifteen hundred years in the ancient heartland of England – a scrap of glass and metal melded by fierce fire. It is the lost core o [...]

Published: 2010

Our rating: 9.0 | positive reader reviews



Hyddenworld: Book 2 written by William Horwood

A series of extraordinary events mark the beginning of summer: earth tremors ravage the Hyddenworld; Jack and Katherine have a child, Judith; and a mysterious gem is found [...]

Published: 2011

Our rating: 9.2 | positive reader reviews



Hyddenworld: Book 3 written by William Horwood

It is August, time of the first harvest, traditional time of plenty. But at the farthest reaches of the Hyddenworld, in sea-bound Englalond, disaster looms. A blight in the [...]

Published: 2012

Our rating: 9.0 | positive reader reviews



Hyddenworld: Book 4 written by William Horwood

Storms rage as the worst winter in living memory ravages the human and Hydden worlds. The prophesied End of Days is here and the universe is dying, yet only a few are even [...]

Published: 2013

Our rating: 9.2 | positive reader reviews


More William Horwood reviews


by William Horwood

Unites Arthur, a little boy abandoned many years ago in a grim hospital in northern England, with Esther, a radiantly intelligent young girl who is suffering from cerebral [...]

Series: NA
Published: 1987

Score: 100

Our rating: 9.6 | 4 positive reader reviews


Duncton Wood

by William Horwood

The moles of Duncton Wood live in the shadow of Mandrake, a cruel tyrant corrupted by absolute power. A solitary young mole, Bracken, is thrown into leading the fight to fr [...]

Series: The Duncton Chronicles: Book 1
Published: 1980

Score: 122

Our rating: 9.6 | 23 positive reader reviews


Duncton Quest

by William Horwood

When Tryfan, son of Bracken and Rebecca, returns to the sacred Burrows of Uffington, it is to find dreadful signs of death and destruction. For out of the chilly North have [...]

Series: The Duncton Chronicles: Book 2
Published: 1989

Score: 96

Our rating: 9.4 | 2 positive reader reviews


Duncton Found

by William Horwood

Under the ruthless leadership of Henbane of Whern, the grikes have taken over moledom. Soon their ascendancy is to be consolidated by Lucerne, her son by Tryfan, and the la [...]

Series: The Duncton Chronicles: Book 3
Published: 1989

Score: 93

Our rating: 9.3 | 0 positive reader reviews


Books you may also enjoy

The 10,000 Doors of January

by Alix E Harrow

In the early 1900s, a young woman embarks on a fantastical journey of self-discovery after finding a mysterious book in this captivating and lyrical debut. [...]

Series: NA
Published: 2019

Score: 101

Our rating: 10.0 | 1 positive reader reviews


The Unspoken Name

by A K Larkwood

A. K. Larkwood's The Unspoken Name is a stunning debut fantasy about an orc priestess turned wizard's assassin.What if you knew how and when you wi [...]

Series: The Serpent Gates #1
Published: 2020

Score: 101

Our rating: 10.0 | 1 positive reader reviews


The Weirdstone of Brisingamen

by Alan Garner

When Colin and Susan are pursued by eerie creatures across Alderley Edge, they are saved by the Wizard. He takes them into the caves of Fundindelve, where he watches over t [...]

Series: NA
Published: 1960

Score: 98

Our rating: 9.7 | 1 positive reader reviews


The Dark is Rising Sequence

by Susan Cooper

On holiday in Cornwall, the three Drew children discover an ancient map in the attic of the house that they are staying in. They know immediately that it is special. It is [...]

Series: NA
Published: 2007

Score: 96

Our rating: 9.6 | 0 positive reader reviews