Eldest by Christopher Paolini (The Inheritance Cycle: Book 2)

(7.6/10) If you enjoyed Eragon then this is more of the same.

Darkness falls…despair abounds…evil reigns…

Eldest is the sequel to Eragon and is the second book in Christopher Paolini’s Inheritance Cycle.

Eragon and Saphira, saviours of the rebel state must travel to Ellesmera, a land of elves to complete their Dragon Rider training. A journey begins, full of adventure and betrayal where Eragon will be lucky to escape with his life.

Eldest will once again thrill and excite young fantasy authors around the world. The tale is full if excitement, awash with swords and sorcery, full to the brim with friendship and betrayal. Eragon and Saphira once again play the leading roles but we now have Eragon’s cousin Roran playing the supporting role as he defends his mountain community from the evil King’s men.

If you were being kind you could say that Paolini was paying homage to Star Wars and the Lord of The Rings. However, if you were not so kindly you would state that he has no original bone in his body and is simply re-working classics from the past. I would personally go for the latter.

This book will be read and enjoyed by those who have never read fantasy by more accomplished authors but in time the reader will move on and come to realise that Paolini’s books are not as good as they once thought they were.

Still, having said that, reading a book is all about enjoyment and if Eragon worked for you then you will not be disappointed by Eldest.

Review by

4 positive reader review(s) for Eldest

12+

Christopher Paolini's The Inheritance Cycle series


Eragon

The Inheritance Cycle: Book 1
6.6/10

Eldest

The Inheritance Cycle: Book 2
7.6/10

Brisingr

The Inheritance Cycle: Book 3
3.2/10

Inheritance

The Inheritance Cycle: Book 4
6.7/10

Eldest reader reviews

from WA

I thought these books were the best until I started reading other fantasy authors. Now I realize the book as the rest of the series is a bit unoriginal, but they are still very fun. Some of the characters stink, though. ( in this case, Murtagh was the largest spoiled, pompous jerk in the book!) This book is overall okay...

from USA

This review is spot on! I used to think that these books were awesome until I started reading more accomplished fantasy writers! These books were still fun though!

from unknown

If I could, I would rate it 110% wonderful! This had so many interesting twists to it. It wasn't what you would expect (in a good way). The movie was good, but didn't follow the story at all.

from South Australia

It is the best book I have read in a long time. I can't wait for the 3rd and 4th books to come out.

from India

Its simply awesome. Waiting for Brisingr...

from Wales

I felt this book was an excellent follow up to the first with a blistering pace.

8.7/10 from 7 reviews

Write a reader review

Your rating out of 10

More Christopher Paolini reviews


The Fork, The Witch, and The Worm

Tales from Alagaƫsia #1
7.0/10

Books you may also enjoy


Fool's Assassin

Robin Hobb
9.9/10

Ship of Magic

Robin Hobb
9.7/10

Harrowing the Dragon

Patricia McKillip
9.5/10

The Dragon's Tooth

ND Wilson
9.3/10

The Rage of Dragons

Evan Winter
9.2/10

Fool's Errand

Robin Hobb
9.0/10

Tales from the Perilous Realm

JRR Tolkien
9.0/10

Redheart

Jackie Gamber
9.0/10

Following reviews


The Light Fantastic

Terry Pratchett
8.5/10

The Black Company

Glen Cook
9.0/10

The Lions of Al-Rassan

Guy Gavriel Kay
8.3/10

Guardians Of The West

David Eddings
7.6/10

The Crystal Shard

RA Salvatore
7.1/10

Tales From Earthsea

Ursula Le Guin
9.0/10

Waylander II

David Gemmell
8.5/10

Dragonlance Chronicles

Margaret Weis and Tracy Hickman
8.5/10