Enchanter's End Game by David Eddings (The Belgariad: Book 5)

8/10 Fans of Eddings will certainly not be disappointed by Enchanter's End Game.

Enchanter’s End Game by David Eddings

Enchanter’s End Game is the fifth and final book in The Belgariad, an epic fantasy series by David Eddings. The book is 444 pages in length and Corgi Books published the edition we review in 2000.

The quest was over. The Orb of Aldur was restored. And once again, with the crowning of Garion, there was a descendant of Riva Iron-grip to rule as Overlord of the West.

But the Prophecy was unfulfilled. In the east, the evil God Torak was about to awaken and seek dominion. Somehow, Garion had to face the God, to kill or be killed. On the outcome of that dread duel rested the destiny of the world. Now, accompanied by his grandfather, the ancient sorcerer Belgarath, Garion headed toward the City of Endless Night, where Torak awaited him. To the south, his fiancée, the Princess Ce’Nedra, led the armies of the West in a desperate effort to divert the forces of Torak’s followers from the man she loved. The Prophecy drove Garion on. But it gave no answer to the question that haunted him. How does a man kill an immortal God? Here is the brilliant conclusion to the epic of The Belgariad, which began in Pawn of Prophecy – a novel of fate, strange lands, and a Prophecy that must be fulfilled – the resolution of the war of men, Kings, and Gods that had spanned seven thousand years!

This is a series that has been enjoyed by millions. It is not without its detractors but one thing is for certain, it is good, solid fantasy fare that is extremely enjoyable. This will appeal in the main to the young adult market and has everything that you could wish for in a fantasy book – heroes that are larger than life, battles aplenty and of course, a quest. To fully enjoy Enchanter’s End Game it is highly advisable that you have read the first four books in the series (The Belgariad). This book is where the fates of the heroes is finally resolved and the Child of Light meets the Child of Dark in the final battle that has the fate of world resting upon it.

It was the unfairness of it all the upset Garion the most. He had never asked for any of this. He did not want to be a sorcerer. He did not want to be the Rivan King. He was not even sure that he really wanted to marry Princess Ce’Nedra – although he was of two minds about that. The little Imperial Princess could be – usually when she wanted something – absolutely adorable. Most of the time, however, she did not want anything, and her true nature emerged. If he had consciously sought any of this, he could have accepted the duty which lay on him with a certain amount of resignation. He had been given no choice in the matter, though, and he found himself wanting to demand of the uncaring sky, ‘Why me?’”

From: Enchanter's End Game

Enchanter’s End Game is slightly predictable but undoubtedly a page-turner. There is humour injected into the story that prevents it from becoming “stuffy” and the end will definitely please readers already hooked on the series.

Eddings work will always divide opinions but fans of his work will certainly not be disappointed by Enchanter’s End Game.

Review by


David Eddings's The Belgariad series

Pawn of Prophecy

The Belgariad: Book 1

Queen of Sorcery

The Belgariad: Book 2

Magicians Gambit

The Belgariad: Book 3

Castle Of Wizardry

The Belgariad: Book 4

Enchanter's End Game

The Belgariad: Book 5

Belgarath the Sorcerer

The Belgariad

Enchanter's End Game reader reviews

8.4/10 from 1 reviews

Write a reader review

There are currently no reader reviews for this book. Why not be the first?

Your rating out of 10

More reviews of David Eddings books

Books you may also enjoy

The Hero of Ages

Brandon Sanderson

Half a King

Joe Abercrombie

Tymon's Flight

Mary Victoria

Hope and Red

Jon Skovron


John Gwynne

The Ember Blade

Chris Wooding

Twelve Kings

Bradley Beaulieu

The Black God's War

Moses Siregar III

Following reviews

Fool's Errand

Robin Hobb

The Ladies of Grace Adieu

Susanna Clarke

The Golden Fool

Robin Hobb

Ghost King

David Gemmell


Margit Sandemo

A Storm of Swords 1: Steel and Snow

George RR Martin

Golgotha Falls: Genesis

George Udenkwo


Jayel Gibson