Eoin Colfer

Eoin Colfer portrait image to appear alongside the Eoin Colfer biography.

Born on 14th May 1965 in Wexford, South-East Ireland Eoin Colfer attended Dublin University to gain his degree and qualify as a primary school teacher like his father before him. Returning to Wexford to begin his teaching career he left his home county once again in 1992, this time with his now wife Jackie, whom he married in 1991, to teach in East Africa, Asia and Europe (Italy) over a period of four years. His first book, Benny and Omar was inspired by his experiences in Tunisia, East Africa and was published in 1998. It has since gone on to be translated into several different European languages.

Eoin's teaching experience with students who have learning disabilities and emotional challenges gave him a particular insight into children's humour and attitudes that is reflected in his writing.

His first Artemis Fowl book was published in 2001 and was met with huge success, Eoin now in a position to give up work decided to give up teaching and concentrate on writing full time, bringing a lot of joy to a lot of children (and quite a few adults too).

Describing his Artemis Fowl books as "Fairies meet Die Hard" Eoin's Artemis Fowl series continues to grow in number and success. However, he is not confined to writing exclusively about his best-known character and has several other published titles unrelated to the series, which are successful in their own right.

In September 2008 it was announced that Eoin Colfer will write a sequel to Douglas Adams' Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy. As a huge fan of Hitchhikers since a youth, Eoin likened being asked to write the sequel to being offered the superpower of his choice.

Eoin Colfer lives in Wexford, Ireland and the south of France with his wife and two children, Sean and Finn.

Eoin Colfer books reviewed


  • Benny and Omar (1998)
  • Benny and Babe (1999)
  • Going Potty (1999)
  • Ed's Funny Feet (2000)
  • Ed's Bed (2001)
  • Artemis Fowl (2001)
  • Artemis Fowl and the Arctic Incident (2002)
  • Artemis Fowl and the Eternity Code (2003)
  • The Artemis Fowl Files (2004)
  • Artemis Fowl and the Seventh Dwarf (2004)
  • The Legend of Spud Murphy (2004)
  • The Supernaturalist (2004)
  • Artemis Fowl and the Opal Deception (2005)
  • The Legend of Captain Crow's Teeth (2006)
  • Half-Moon Investigations (2006)
  • Artemis Fowl and the Lost Colony (2006)
  • The Legend of The Worst Boy In The World (2007)
  • Airman (2008)
  • Artemis Fowl and the Time Paradox (2008)
  • And Another Thing… (2009)
  • Artemis Fowl and the Altlantis Complex (2010)

Critical acclaim

Artemis Fowl and the Artic Incident - Fast, funny and very exciting – Daily Mail

Artemis Fowl and the Eternity Code - A winning combination of humour, action and ingenuity – Sunday Times

Artemis Fowl and the Opal Deception - A crunchily perfect knock-out of a debut novel – Guardian

The Supernaturalist - Reads like The Matrix crossed with Oliver Twist – The Times