Artemis Fowl and the Eternity Code by Eoin Colfer

(9.0/10) The story is well crafted and entertaining from start to finish.

Artemis Fowl and the Eternity Code is the third book in the Artemis Fowl series, and just like the second book in the series, this book is an improvement on its predecessor. If you haven't read an Artemis Fowl book before, you could probably pick this one up and have a great time, but my recommendation would definitely be to start from the first book and work your way though them in order.

Artemis Fowl and the Eternity Code cuts straight to a coffee shop where Artemis and Butler are trying to sell a piece of human / fairy integrated technology to entrepreneur and all-round bad guy Jon Spiro. Spiro is ruthless, and he outmanoeuvres Artemis and Butler through a display of firepower about as subtle as a brick. With Butler incapacitated and the technology stolen, Artemis has no choice but to call in help from his "friends" at LEP, but obtaining their help will come at a significant cost.

I really enjoyed this book much more than the first two, primarily because this is really the first time we get to see Artemis Fowl matching wits against what you would call an arch-nemesis. John Spiro is most definitely an intellectual match for our boy genius, forming the basis of the high stakes game of cat and mouse that defines this book. The whole thing is reminiscent of The Princess Bride, where Westley and the Sicilian try to outwit each other on which cup has the poison - "I knew you would know that I knew you did that thing deliberately, and I knew you would know how I would respond, so I cheated." I hope this trend of Artemis matching wits with arch-nemeses continues in the future books, because its just so much fun to read about.

I don't have much else to say about the rest of the book. Colfer's writing is much better, we get to see the characters slightly grow and evolve, the story is well crafted and entertaining from start to finish, and the ending makes me want to pick up the next book almost immediately. I think if you are this far into the series you already know what to expect, so just pick up this book and have some fun. I know I did.

Review by


Artemis Fowl and the Eternity Code reader reviews

9/10 from 1 reviews

Write a reader review

There are currently no reader reviews for this book. Why not be the first?

Your rating out of 10

All reviews for Eoin Colfer's Artemis Fowl Series series

Artemis Fowl

Artemis Fowl Series: Book 1 written by Eoin Colfer

Artemis Fowl is a 12 year old genius born into the Fowl dynasty, that is, he is heir apparent and an already accomplished master of criminal activities that have founded th [...]

Published: 0000

Our rating: 7.8 | positive reader reviews


Artemis Fowl and the Arctic Incident

Artemis Fowl Series: Book 2 written by Eoin Colfer

Our intrepid anti-hero Artemis Fowl returns again in this second instalment in Eoin Colfer’s best selling series. Artemis, having been installed at a prestigious boar [...]

Published: 0000

Our rating: 8.5 | positive reader reviews


Artemis Fowl and the Eternity Code

Artemis Fowl Series: Book 3 written by Eoin Colfer

Artemis and his bodyguard Butler have set up a meeting in Chicago with dangerous international businessman Jon Spiro. In his latest eager attempt to make money, using a pri [...]

Published: 2003

Our rating: 9.0 | positive reader reviews


Artemis Fowl and the Opal Deception

Artemis Fowl Series: Book 4 written by Eoin Colfer

Evil pixie, Opal Koboi, is back and she's more dangerous than ever. This time she doesn't just want power over the fairy People - this time she wants the humans too [...]

Published: 2005

Our rating: 9.4 | positive reader reviews


Artemis Fowl and the Lost Colony

Artemis Fowl Series: Book 5 written by Eoin Colfer

Ten millennia ago, the fairy People were defeated in a great battle with mankind, forcing them to move underground. Only the eighth family of fairies remained undefeated: t [...]

Published: 2007

Our rating: 9.0 | positive reader reviews


Artemis Fowl and the Time Paradox

Artemis Fowl Series: Book 6 written by Eoin Colfer

Teenage criminal mastermind Artemis Fowl has a new mission – and this time it's personal. Artemis's mother is dangerously ill, and the only way to find a cure [...]

Published: 2008

Our rating: 9.0 | positive reader reviews


Artemis Fowl and the Atlantis Complex

Artemis Fowl Series: Book 7 written by Eoin Colfer

Young Artemis has frequently used high-tech fairy magic to mastermind the most devious criminal activity of the new century. Now, at a conference in Iceland, Artemis has ga [...]

Published: 2010

Our rating: 9.0 | positive reader reviews


Artemis Fowl and the Last Guardian

Artemis Fowl Series: Book 8 written by Eoin Colfer

IS THIS ARMAGEDDON FOR ARTEMIS FOWL? Opal Koboi, power-crazed pixie, is plotting to exterminate mankind and become fairy queen. If she succeeds, the spirits of long-dead fa [...]

Published: 0000

Our rating: 4.0 | positive reader reviews


More Eoin Colfer reviews

The Reluctant Assassin

by Eoin Colfer

It all began with the F.B.I. and W.A.R.P.  (Witness Anonymous Relocation Programme) hiding witnesses in the past to protect the future - until now . . . Riley is a Vic [...]

Series: WARP #1
Published: 0000

Score: 70

Our rating: 7.0 | 0 positive reader reviews


Books you may also enjoy

Six of Crows

by Leigh Bardugo

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price - and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy, Kaz Brekker. Kaz is off [...]

Series: NA
Published: 2015

Score: 100

Our rating: 9.5 | 5 positive reader reviews


Master Assassins

by Robert V S Redick

Two village boys mistaken for assassins become the decisive figures in the battle for a continent in the thrilling new desert-based epic fantasy by the author of The R [...]

Series: The Fire Sacraments #1
Published: 2018

Score: 92

Our rating: 9.2 | 0 positive reader reviews


Theft of Swords

by Michael J Sullivan

Royce Melborn, a skilled thief, and his mercenary partner, Hadrian Blackwater, make a profitable living carrying out dangerous assignments for conspiring nobles--until they [...]

Series: The Riyria Revelations #1
Published: 2012

Score: 93

Our rating: 9.0 | 3 positive reader reviews


The Way of Shadows

by Brent Weeks

The perfect killer has no friends. Only targets. For Durzo Blint, assassination is an art. And he is the city’s most accomplished artist, his talents required from al [...]

Series: The Night Angel Trilogy: Book 1
Published: 2009

Score: 113

Our rating: 8.7 | 26 positive reader reviews