I Am Grimalkin by Joseph Delaney (The Wardstone Chronicles)

9/10 I Am Grimalkin finds Joseph Delaney back on top form once again.

'I am Grimalkin, and I have already chosen those I will kill…'

Grimalkin has made it her lifetime ambition to destroy the Fiend, avenging the brutal murder of her son.

Having grudgingly joined forces with the Spook and his apprentice, Tom, and assisted them in the binding of the Fiend, she is now on the run. And her mission is deadly.

She has to help them bind the Fiend's spirit for ever no matter who - or what - comes after it…

The Wardstone Chronicles now consists of eight main series books and four companion pieces and the challenge for any author writing a series of this length is to keep the quality of the individual book's high, maintain the interest of the reader and continually develop the characters. And all this Joseph Delaney has done very, very well. In my last review, for The Spook's Destiny, I mentioned that Spook's books are either good, very good or excellent. I found the first five books in the Wardstone Chronicles to be excellent while the three that followed, although still good, didn't quite reach the same heights. I must admit that I had begun to wonder if the series was running out of steam and so it came as a wonderful surprise to find that I Am Grimalkin finds Joseph Delaney back on top form once again.

In my opinion, the main reason for this reinvigoration was that in I Am Grimalkin the narration moved away from Thomas Ward to the enigmatic witch-assassin Grimalkin. Grimalkin is an oddly likeable character (despite cutting of people's thumb bones while they still lived… allegedly), due in no small part to the code of ethics which she steadfastly adheres to. We learn much about her life and we also discover that she once had an apprentice assassin, and this made for fascinating reading.

I Am Grimalkin is a brilliant, and very strong, addition to the series. And it is not the simple spin-off that I, and I'm sure many others, may have expected, but a vital continuation to the ongoing story of the light's fight against the dark. As exciting and compelling as ever, the story of Grimalkin will thrill and chill in equal measure. Highly recommended.

But there was a shock in store for me at the end of the book. In a Q&A with the author Delaney delivered this bombshell:


You’ve announced that the Wardstone Chronicles will soon be drawing to a conclusion. Are you sad to be leaving them behind?
Yes. I will be sad when the series comes to an end because it has been so much a part of my life for the last ten years. However, I always look towards the future and it would be great to have a completely different new series (perhaps in another genre, such as science fantasy).

I do find it hard to accept that there will never be another book set in the world of the Wardstone Chronicles because much still remains to be explored.

It is sad to her that the Chronicles is drawing to an end as I had hoped to read about Tom once he became the spook himself, after John Gregory has hung up his cloak and staff. I would also have liked to see a new Spook’s house.


Well, nobody told me! So things are really coming to a head now and we must prepare ourselves for the final battle. It is sad to hear that the Chronicles are drawing to an end as I had hoped to read about Tom once he became the spook himself, after John Gregory has hung up his cloak and staff. I would also have liked to see a new Spook’s house… but maybe it will be best to finish the series on a high.

Review by

2 positive reader review(s) for I Am Grimalkin

Our interview with Joseph Delaney

The Wardstone Chronicles began in 2004 with the publication of The Spook's Apprentice. In 2008 the fifth book in the series, The Spook's Mistake, was released to further complement a series that is without doubt the b [...]

Read interview


Joseph Delaney's The Wardstone Chronicles series

The Spook's Apprentice

The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 1

The Spook's Curse

The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 2

The Spook's Secret

The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 3

The Spook's Battle

The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 4

The Spook's Mistake

The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 5

The Spook's Tale

The Wardstone Chronicles

The Spook's Sacrifice

The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 6

The Spook's Stories: Witches

The Wardstone Chronicles

The Spook's Nightmare

The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 7

The Spook's Destiny

The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 8

I Am Grimalkin

The Wardstone Chronicles

The Spook's Blood

The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 10

Slither's Tale

The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 11

Spooks: Alice

The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 12

I Am Grimalkin reader reviews

from Norway

Fantastic you should read it!

from South Africa

I am Grimalkin has to be the most fascinating book you'll ever read. I loved the book from the first page to the last. It's really interesting and for the people who love gruesome, weird and wacky things. It's all a about a witch assassin named Grimalkin and she has made it her lifetime ambition the destroy the Fiend avenge the brutal murder of her son. It's the same old story, a girl meets a guy when Grimalkin met the Fiend he is in human form and has a warm smile on his face but when she discovers he is actually the Fiend makes a plan the only way a witch can get rid of the fiend forever is to have his child but there was a risk most of the children of the are mutated monsters but Grimalkin's baby is a beautiful baby boy. The Fiend comes and kills the baby Grimalkin then makes it her lifetime ambition to destroy the fiend. If you wanna know more I suggest you buy the book or borrow it from a local library I recommend this book :) ^0^

9.7/10 from 3 reviews

Write a reader review

Your rating out of 10

Books you may also enjoy


Darren Shan

The Feathered Man

Jeremy de Quidt

The Story of Cirrus Flux

Matthew Skelton

The Golden Acorn

Catherine Cooper

Michael Belmont and the Tomb of Anubis

Ethan Russell Erway


Robert Westall


Ursula Le Guin

Following reviews

The Toy Sorcerer

Laura Hart

The Deverry Cycle

Katharine Kerr

Frayed: A Madison Lark Novella

Blakely Chorpenning

The Door to Lost Pages

Claude Lalumiere

Charmed Season 9 Volume 2

Dave Hoover and Paul Ruditis

A Time For Ryda

Phil Stern


Robison Wells