Slither's Tale by Joseph Delaney (The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 11)

6/10 A decent novel but unfortunately it does not progress the series.

Slither's Tale is the eleventh novel of Joseph Delaney's Wardstone Chronicles, first published in April 2013.

Slither is a haizda mage who preys upon humans, drinking their blood to feed his dark urges. So when a local farmer dies, it's only natural that Slither should want to feast on his lovely daughters.

But then the farmer offers him a deal, and extracts from Slither a promise that will take him on a journey to the City of the Petrified Tree, to a fallen star-stone that holds great power, and straight into the path of Grimalkin, the Witch Assassin.

Although proclaimed as number eleven in a series of thirteen this novel really should be looked upon as a stand-alone as it does little to progress the main story arc involving Tom Ward's battle against the dark. Slither's Tale is in itself a pretty good book but it comes out as a strange time and other than allowing the reader to discover more of Grimalkin' exploits, it falls more into the category of a companion novel, inspired by a creature from within the Spook's bestiary.

The major problem with Slither's Tale is that readers are getting impatient for the end, they want to find out what becomes of the Spook, Alice and Tom. And although the final confrontation is now finally here many feel that it has been overly long in arriving. It is as if there has been a reluctance to close it out too quickly and the result has been a loss of momentum and the publication of Spook's novels that are, while of a consistently decent standard, inferior to the wonderful novels earlier in the series.

Hopefully the final two novels in the series, Alice and The Spook's Revenge, will provide readers with the conclusion they deserve and are arguably overdue.

As a site we have long been big supporters of Joseph Delaney's series and have been very happy to recommend it most highly. But our patience is wearing thin as we detect there may be rather cynical reasons in unduly elongating the series.

Review by

Our interview with Joseph Delaney

The Wardstone Chronicles began in 2004 with the publication of The Spook's Apprentice. In 2008 the fifth book in the series, The Spook's Mistake, was released to further complement a series that is without doubt the b [...]

Read interview


Joseph Delaney's The Wardstone Chronicles series

The Spook's Apprentice

The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 1

The Spook's Curse

The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 2

The Spook's Secret

The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 3

The Spook's Battle

The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 4

The Spook's Mistake

The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 5

The Spook's Tale

The Wardstone Chronicles

The Spook's Sacrifice

The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 6

The Spook's Stories: Witches

The Wardstone Chronicles

The Spook's Nightmare

The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 7

The Spook's Destiny

The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 8

I Am Grimalkin

The Wardstone Chronicles

The Spook's Blood

The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 10

Slither's Tale

The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 11

Spooks: Alice

The Wardstone Chronicles: Book 12

Slither's Tale reader reviews

from Australian

It's good.

8/10 from 2 reviews

Write a reader review

Your rating out of 10

Books you may also enjoy


Darren Shan

The Feathered Man

Jeremy de Quidt

The Story of Cirrus Flux

Matthew Skelton

The Golden Acorn

Catherine Cooper

Michael Belmont and the Tomb of Anubis

Ethan Russell Erway


Robert Westall


Ursula Le Guin

Following reviews

Death Note: Finis

Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata

Ember Fury

Cathy Brett

The Suicide Exhibition

Justin Richards

Death Note: Kindred Spirit

Tsugumi Ohba and Takeshi Obata

The Man from Hell

Barrie Roberts

Grave Descend

Michael Crichton

The Time Traveler's Almanac

Ann and Jeff VanderMeer