Maria V Snyder

Maria V Snyder portrait image to appear alongside the Maria V Snyder biography.

Maria V. Snyder published her first novel Poison Study in 2006, a title which went on to win the Compton Crook Award for Best First Novel. Continuing this remarkable fantasy series, Maria soon wrote Magic Study and then Fire Study, which became a New York Times Best Seller. Storm Glass, her fourth title, begins a new trilogy, continuing the magical journey of character Opal Cowen.

Maria changed careers in 1995 from being a Meteorologist to a Novelist when she began working on her first novel, Poison Study. She has also published numerous freelance articles in regional magazines and in local newspapers. Teaching fiction writing classes at the local college gives her the enjoyable opportunity to encourage novice writers and to keep improving her craft.

Maria lives in Pennsylvania with her family. For more information about Maria, please visit

"I don’t do too much advance research or outlining for a story (I’ll research as I go). I tend to come up with a character and a problem and then go from there. The style and setting are my own way of writing and are influenced by my upbringing and experiences.  Characters tend to be people I’d like to have as friends or people I’d like to read about."
Fantasy Book Review interviewed Maria V Snyder in September 2010, read the full interview here.

Maria V Snyder books reviewed


Study Trilogy

  • Poison Study (2005)
  • Magic Study (2006)
  • Fire Study (2008)

Opal Cowan Trilogy

  • Storm Glass (2009)
  • Sea Glass (2009)
  • Spy Glass (2010)

Insider Series

  • Inside Out (2010)
  • Outside In (2011)

Healer Series

  • Touch of Power (2011)
  • Scent of Magic (2012)
    The army of the dead are coming… Avry of Kazan, the last Healer of the mystical Fifteen Realms, has a power that can’t be matched. But in the minds of her friends and foe alike, Avry no longer exists. Now, as the psychotic King Tohon builds an army mightier than any that has been seen before - a league of undead soldiers - Avry must face her toughest, most terrifying battle alone. Fighting to be reunited with her family and her lover Kerrick, Avry must infiltrate Tohon’s troops. But does she have the power, the rare magic; to do what legend says is impossible?
  • Taste of Death