Sea Glass by Maria V Snyder

(8.6/10) The storm is coming and Opal must choose the players who she can trust.

In the second book of the Opal Cowan series Opal is finally ready to graduate from the Keep and now must decide whether or not she is going to continue working for the Sitian council, or whether she is going to try and make it on her own. Will Opal go it alone without the council and risk having her magic exploited by others for personal gain? Or will she stay with the council and let them exploit her gifts for the benefit of everyone but at the risk of losing her freedom?

She makes things worse, however, by directly disobeying an order from the council to return to the Keep and goes off on a quest to prevent the events of the previous book from happening again. This inevitably makes Opal's life harder and causes many more problems than it solves.

Sea Glass was not quite as interesting as Storm Glass was and I found it quite easy to put down when I needed to do something else. Opal is still wonderfully naive and you come to see that getting into trouble is a trait that she shares with the protagonist of Maria. V. Snyder's previous series. Unlike Yelena Zaltana, Opal is still not as capable but she takes strides to try and change it throughout the book but it reminds me all too much of how Yelena went about life but without so much risk and intrigue.

By far the best part of the book was an appearance from Yelena herself and I found it most interesting to see how others see Yelena, and to see how her character changes from the first person perspective in the Zaltana series to the third person perspective in the Cowan series. Yelena's appearance sparks an interesting twist in the storyline that until this point seemed to flounder a bit as Opal tried to win back trust from the council and set her future in order, which is quite tedious in someone as nice as Opal.

It is difficult not to compare this series with Snyder's previous work with a storyline and character progression similar to that of Yelena but, as I stated above, without the mystery, intrigue and natural suspicions and wariness of the person Opal looks up to so much.


We return to find Opal in the perils of another storm that rages beyond control.

Opal's fate and trust is tested beyond measure and she and only she alone can decide who she can and cannot trust in the web of lies that surround her.

In her search for answers, Opal faces many more walls and complications on her journey to self-discovery and faith in those that surround her.

As her talents develop, Opal must decide whether her new found 'talent' is best served for the Magicians, but with great power comes great responsibility, and one the Master Magicians fear beyond comprehension.

Isolated, confused, scared and in doubt, Opal finds the courage to ride out the storm before her and discovers that not all is all as it appears.

The storm is coming and Opal must choose the players who she can trust.

When he trust is broken, a new Magician emerges.

Reviews by and Snjezana Bobic

Our interview with Maria V Snyder

Maria V Snyder published her first novel Poison Study in 2006, a title which went on to win the Compton Crook Award for Best First Novel. Continuing this remarkable fantasy series, Maria soon wrote Magic Study and then Fire S [...]

Read interview


Sea Glass reader reviews

8.6/10 from 1 reviews

Write a reader review

There are currently no reader reviews for this book. Why not be the first?

Your rating out of 10

All reviews for Maria V Snyder's Opal Cowan Trilogy series

Storm Glass

Opal Cowan Trilogy: Book 1 written by Maria V Snyder

As a glassmaker and a magician-in-training, Opal Cowen understands trial by fire. Now it's time to test her mettle. Someone has sabotaged the Stormdancer clan's gla [...]

Published: 2009

Our rating: 8.0 | positive reader reviews


Sea Glass

Opal Cowan Trilogy: Book 2 written by Maria V Snyder

Like the colorful pieces of sea glass washed up on shore, Opal has weathered rough waters and twisting currents. But instead of finding a tranquil eddy, Opal is caught in a [...]

Published: 2009

Our rating: 8.6 | positive reader reviews


Spy Glass

Opal Cowan Trilogy: Book 3 written by Maria V Snyder

After siphoning her own blood magic in the showdown at Hubal, student glass magician Opal Cowan lost her powers. Immune to the effects of magic, Opal is now an outsider loo [...]

Published: 2010

Our rating: 8.8 | positive reader reviews


More Maria V Snyder reviews

Scent of Magic

by Maria V Snyder

The army of the dead are coming… Avry of Kazan, the last Healer of the mystical Fifteen Realms, has a power that can’t be matched. But in the minds of her frie [...]

Series: Avry of Kazan #2
Published: 0000

Score: 60

Our rating: 6.0 | 0 positive reader reviews


Inside Out

by Maria V Snyder

I’m Trella. I’m a scrub. A nobody. One of thousands who work the lower levels, keeping Inside clean for the Uppers. I just do my job and try to avoid the Popula [...]

Series: MIRA: Book 1
Published: 0000

Score: 83

Our rating: 8.2 | 1 positive reader reviews


Outside In

by Maria V Snyder

Trella is a scrub, a nobody. One of thousands who work the lower levels, keeping inside clean for the Uppers. She does her job and tries to avoid the Pop Cops. So what if s [...]

Series: MIRA: Book 2
Published: 0000

Score: 72

Our rating: 7.2 | 0 positive reader reviews


Poison Study

by Maria V Snyder

Choose: A quick death...or a slow poison...About to be executed for murder, Yelena is offered an extraordinary reprieve. She'll eat the best meals, have rooms in the pa [...]

Series: The Study Trilogy: Book 1
Published: 2005

Score: 84

Our rating: 8.0 | 4 positive reader reviews


Magic Study

by Maria V Snyder

Completing her apprenticeship could prove deadly... With an execution order on her head, Yelena has no choice but to escape to Sitia, the land of her birth. With only a yea [...]

Series: The Study Trilogy: Book 2
Published: 2008

Score: 83

Our rating: 8.3 | 0 positive reader reviews


Fire Study

by Maria V Snyder

Yelena's apprenticeship is over - now her real test has begun. When word that Yelena is a Soulfinder - able to capture and release souls - spreads like wildfire, people [...]

Series: The Study Trilogy: Book 3
Published: 2009

Score: 76

Our rating: 7.5 | 0 positive reader reviews


Books you may also enjoy

The Earthsea Quartet

by Ursula Le Guin

The island of Gont is a land famous for wizards. Of these, some say the greatest - and surely the greatest voyager - is the man called Sparrowhawk. As a reckless, awkward b [...]

Series: Earthsea Saga: Book 1 - 4
Published: 1993

Score: 117

Our rating: 10.0 | 15 positive reader reviews


Ptolemy's Gate

by Jonathan Stroud

Three years on from the events in The Golem's Eye, the magicians' rule in London is teetering on a knife-edge, with strikes, riots and general unrest. The Prime Min [...]

Series: The Bartimaeus Trilogy: Book 3
Published: 2005

Score: 95

Our rating: 9.7 | 0 positive reader reviews


The Wise Man's Fear

by Patrick Rothfuss

Picking up the tale of Kvothe Kingkiller once again, we follow him into exile, into political intrigue, courtship, adventure, love and magic ... and further along the path [...]

Series: The Kingkiller Chronicle: Book 2
Published: 2011

Score: 117

Our rating: 9.6 | 11 positive reader reviews


The Amulet of Samarkand

by Jonathan Stroud

When the 5,000-year-old djinni Bartimaeus is summoned by Nathaniel, a young magician's apprentice, he expects to have to do nothing more taxing than a little levitation [...]

Series: The Bartimaeus Trilogy: Book 1
Published: 2003

Score: 100

Our rating: 9.5 | 6 positive reader reviews