Spy Glass by Maria V Snyder


Spy Glass is the eagerly awaited third and final instalment of Maria V Snyder's Opal Cowan series. After the disastrous outcome to the events of the previous book's adventures, Opal is back at her family home licking the wounds.

Opal now has to adapt to life without magic. She tries to get back into her usual routine but without her magic she finds it difficult. The sight of the glass kilns that used to comfort her just reminds her of what she's lost and the consequences of her actions.

Her despair soon turns to hope though when she receives a call from an unexpected visitor who hints at the possibility that she may be able to get her magic back. Having to live without magic Opal has to learn an entirely new set of survival skills; new skills mean new challenges and Opal learns this the hard way.

Spy Glass is a faster paced than the previous two instalments (Storm Glass and Sea Glass) with more action, more intrigue and a less politics. There is less angst in this book; less importance is placed on whether Opal's actions will please the Council of Sitia. It just gets on with the story. The storyline is still wonderfully complex and Opal also has a new set of accomplices and characters (many of which only made brief or fleeting appearances in the previous books).

Opal finally comes into her own in Spy Glass. She is still naïve and kind, but unlike the last two books she spends less time dwelling on that fact and less time whining about it. The main focus of the book seems to be whether Opal can accept herself as who she is or whether she needs more. Unlike previously, where she would complain about her situation, in Spy Glass she actively seeks out the answer of whether she can be happy with or without her magic.

As the final book in the series Spy Glass does not disappoint. It incorporated the aspects that I enjoyed most of the Yelena Zaltana series with the likeable personality of Opal (who seems to get herself into her own special brand of trouble). Having been disappointed by the previous two books in this series Spy Glass, in my opinion, redeemed the Opal Cowan trilogy. I would say that this series is worth reading but there are better books out there and, given the choice I would rather reread the Yelena Zaltana series than the Opal Cowen series.

Review by

All reviews for Maria V Snyder's Opal Cowan Trilogy series

Storm Glass
Opal Cowan Trilogy: Book 1

As a glassmaker and a magician-in-training, Opal Cowen understands trial by fire. Now it's time to test her mettle. Someone has sabotaged the Stormdancer clan's gla [...]

Sea Glass
Opal Cowan Trilogy: Book 2

Like the colorful pieces of sea glass washed up on shore, Opal has weathered rough waters and twisting currents. But instead of finding a tranquil eddy, Opal is caught in a [...]

Spy Glass
Opal Cowan Trilogy: Book 3

After siphoning her own blood magic in the showdown at Hubal, student glass magician Opal Cowan lost her powers. Immune to the effects of magic, Opal is now an outsider loo [...]

More Maria V Snyder reviews

Scent of Magic

The army of the dead are coming… Avry of Kazan, the last Healer of the mystical Fifteen Realms, has a power that can’t be matched. But in the minds of her frie [...]

Inside Out

I’m Trella. I’m a scrub. A nobody. One of thousands who work the lower levels, keeping Inside clean for the Uppers. I just do my job and try to avoid the Popula [...]

Outside In

Trella is a scrub, a nobody. One of thousands who work the lower levels, keeping inside clean for the Uppers. She does her job and tries to avoid the Pop Cops. So what if s [...]

Poison Study

Choose: A quick death...or a slow poison...About to be executed for murder, Yelena is offered an extraordinary reprieve. She'll eat the best meals, have rooms in the pa [...]

Magic Study

Completing her apprenticeship could prove deadly... With an execution order on her head, Yelena has no choice but to escape to Sitia, the land of her birth. With only a yea [...]

Fire Study

Yelena's apprenticeship is over - now her real test has begun. When word that Yelena is a Soulfinder - able to capture and release souls - spreads like wildfire, people [...]


Spy Glass reader reviews

from England

Did not enjoy this especially the ending with Develen.

6.4/10 from 2 reviews

Write a reader review

Your rating out of 10

Books you may also enjoy

The Earthsea Quartet

by Ursula Le Guin

The island of Gont is a land famous for wizards. Of these, some say the greatest - and surely the greatest voyager - is the man called Sparrowhawk. As a reckless, awkward b [...]

Series: Earthsea Saga: Book 1 - 4
Published: 1993

Score: 114

Our rating: 10.0 | 14 positive reader reviews


The Wise Man's Fear

by Patrick Rothfuss

Picking up the tale of Kvothe Kingkiller once again, we follow him into exile, into political intrigue, courtship, adventure, love and magic ... and further along the path [...]

Series: The Kingkiller Chronicle: Book 2
Published: 2011

Score: 102

Our rating: 9.6 | 6 positive reader reviews


Year of the Unicorn

by Andre Norton

Far from the besieged home of Simon and Jaelithe, in peaceful Norsdale, we meet Gillan, who longs to leave her dull life in a secluded country abbey. But when her wish come [...]

Series: Witch World: Book 3
Published: 1965

Score: 93

Our rating: 9.5 | 0 positive reader reviews



by Juliet Marillier

Sixteen-year-old Neryn is alone in the land of Alban, where the oppressive king has ordered anyone with magical strengths captured and brought before him. Eager to hide her [...]

Series: NA
Published: 2012

Score: 95

Our rating: 9.5 | 0 positive reader reviews