Poison Study by Maria V Snyder (The Study Trilogy: Book 1)

(8.0/10) A tantalising tale of intrigue, betrayal, and friendship.

Choose: A quick death...or a slow poison... About to be executed for murder, Yelena is offered an extraordinary reprieve. She'll eat the best meals, have rooms in the palace - and risk assassination by anyone trying to kill the Commander of Ixia. And so Yelena chooses to become a food taster. But the chief of security, leaving nothing to chance, deliberately feeds her Butterfly's Dust - and only by appearing for her daily antidote will she delay an agonising death from the poison. As Yelena tries to escape her new dilemma, disasters keep mounting. Rebels plot to seize Ixia and Yelena develops magical powers she can't control. Her life is threatened again and choices must be made. But this time the outcomes aren't so clear...

“Choose a quick death or a slow poison”

Maria V. Snyder’s Poison Study is a tantalising tale about Yelena, a girl who is taken away from her family at the age of six.

About to be executed for murder, Yelena is give the chance to live… but she must decide whether her life is worth living, considering all the heartache she has been through.

Yelena has been appointed the Commanders new food taster, and with the possibility of poison having being planted in every drink, desert or pie, Yelena’s every meal could be her last.

Driven by ambition and determination, she must decide whether to stay loyal to the friends she has made or flee to freedom.

And so, in her quest to escape her past and present, Yelena is torn between her duty and her abilities as a new emerging magician…

A tantalising tale of intrigue, betrayal, and friendship. Yelena’s journey to self discovery will leave you glued to the pages and wanting more - just like a sweet wine that lingers on your lips.

Poison Study is the first instalment in The Study Trilogy and is followed by Magic Study and Fire Study.

Review by

4 positive reader review(s) for Poison Study

Our interview with Maria V Snyder

Maria V Snyder published her first novel Poison Study in 2006, a title which went on to win the Compton Crook Award for Best First Novel. Continuing this remarkable fantasy series, Maria soon wrote Magic Study and then Fire S [...]

Read interview

12+

Maria V Snyder's The Study Trilogy series


Poison Study

The Study Trilogy: Book 1
8.0/10

Magic Study

The Study Trilogy: Book 2
8.3/10

Fire Study

The Study Trilogy: Book 3
7.5/10

Poison Study reader reviews

from England

Poison Study was an extremely gripping fantasy book with the just the right amount of action, magic and adventure! The main protagonist ( Yelena ) is likeable, brave and leaves the reader rooting for her throughout the book as she explores the land of Ixia and the future it holds for her. Overall I thoroughly enjoyed Poison Study and would recommend to any one who is 11 + !

from Sydney, Australia

I love every element of Poison Study. Honestly, I really can't stop fangirling about it at school and if anyone asks me, I get them to read it. Magic Study and Fire Study are the next 2 in the series, but i really miss Valek <3. But Poison Study has A LOT of Valek in it so i give it a perfect score :) Magic Study and Fire Study would be 10/10 material as well, so make sure you get your hands on it. Also Maria V Snyder has another trilogy called the 'Glass' Series. The books are: Storm Glass, Sea Glass & Spy Glass. I'm reading Sea Glass right now and the trilogy is addicting so far. So get your hands on these books too! Happy reading!

from England

A really addictive read! The book had a great pace to it that kept me wanting to read more and managed to keep the pace all the way through. Even though it is an enjoyable book that I would recommend reading, it's not perfect. The lore and backstory of the world and some of the characters that inhibit it is nowhere near meaty enough for my personal taste, and I found some descriptions and characters to be weak. But the emotion and care given to the main characters is more than enough to make this book a great read.

from Carshalton, Surrey

Fantastic read, you need to read it for yourself! Don't forget the next two books when you get the first one as you will want them so as to carry on reading!

9/10 from 5 reviews

Write a reader review

Your rating out of 10

More Maria V Snyder reviews


Spy Glass

Opal Cowan Trilogy: Book 3
8.8/10

Sea Glass

Opal Cowan Trilogy: Book 2
8.6/10

Inside Out

MIRA: Book 1
8.2/10

Storm Glass

Opal Cowan Trilogy: Book 1
8.0/10

Outside In

MIRA: Book 2
7.2/10

Scent of Magic

Avry of Kazan #2
6.0/10

Books you may also enjoy


The Hero of Ages

Brandon Sanderson
10.0/10

The Priory of the Orange Tree

Samantha Shannon
9.8/10

Half a King

Joe Abercrombie
9.7/10

Tymon's Flight

Mary Victoria
9.6/10

Hope and Red

Jon Skovron
9.6/10

Ruin

John Gwynne
9.6/10

The Ember Blade

Chris Wooding
9.6/10

Twelve Kings

Bradley Beaulieu
9.5/10