Kevin Brooks

Kevin Brooks always wanted to be a writer. After being turned down by a number of publishers, Kevin Brooks sent his Martyn Pig manuscript to The Chicken House, who published it in the spring of 2002. The book was short-listed for the Carnegie Medal and won a Branford Boase Award for best first novel.

Critics have compared his second novel, Lucas, to classics such as To Kill a Mockingbird and The Ox-Bow Incident. Told through the eyes of fifteen-year-old Caitlin, Lucas captures the pain and grace of an adolescent girl faced with a moral dilemma - with only her heart to guide her. Lucas was long-listed for the Guardian Fiction Prize.

Kevin Brooks is married and lives in Manningtree, Essex, England.

Kevin Brooks books reviewed


  • Martyn Pig (2002)
  • Lucas (2002)
  • Kissing the Rain (2004)
  • Bloodline (2004)
  • I See You, Baby (2005)
  • Candy (2005)
  • The Road of the Dead (2006)
  • Being (2007)
  • Black Rabbit Summer (2008)
  • Killing God (2009)
  • iBoy (2010)

Johnny Delgado Series

  • Like Father, Like Son (2006)
  • Private Detective (2006)