Gail Carson Levine

Gail Carson Levine grew up in New York City and has been writing all her life. Her first book for children, Ella Enchanted, was a 1998 Newbery Honor Book. Other books include Ever, Fairest, Dave at Night, an ALA Notable Book and Best Book for Young Adults; The Wish, The Fairy's Return, The Two Princesses of Bamarre, and the six Princess Tales books. She is also the author of the nonfiction book Writing Magic: Creating Stories That Fly and the picture book Betsy Who Cried Wolf, illustrated by Scott Nash.

Gail Carson Levine books reviewed


  • Dave at Night (1999)
  • The Fairy's Mistake (1999)
  • The Princess Test (1999)
  • Princess Sonora and the Long Sleep (1999)
  • The Wish (2000)
  • The Two Princesses of Bamarre (2001)
  • Betsy Who Cried Wolf (2002)
  • Cinderellis and the Glass Hill (2000)
  • The Fairy's Return (2002)
  • For Biddle's Sake (2002)
  • Fairy Dust and the Quest for the Egg (2005)
  • Fairest (2006)
  • Writing Magic: Creating Stories That Fly (2006)
  • Fairy Haven and the Quest for the Wand (2007)
  • Ever (2008)