The Happy Waving Game! by Andrew Davenport


The Happy Waving Game is the forth book in a series of six based on the successful CBeebies television programme. Set in a magical garden that exists in the twilight before a child's bedtime the books contain all your children's favourite characters.

The Happy Waving Game centres on the cheeky and cheerful characters called the Tombliboos. There are three Tombliboos called Un, Oo and Ee; these are based on the phonetic spelling of an infants verbalisation of the numbers One, Two and Three and as such these characters always appear in that particular order. The Tombliboos take a ride in the Pinky Ponk, a rather wonderful zeppelin type mode of transport that sedately fly's around the garden. On their journey the Tombliboos see many of their friends down below in the garden and so begins the waving game with many of the characters being introduced by a sound (that is read) that is familiar to that creature. Especially smile inducing is the inclusion of the Hahoos, a group of billowy, pillowy, sleepy, gentle giant creatures that do not appear in many storylines on television but can be seen dancing at the end of many episodes.

Delightfully engaging for both babies and toddlers the Happy Waving Game invites your child along on the Tombliboo's journey and finishes with the favourite and familiar phrase of “Isn't that a pip?! Pip-pip, onk-onk!'

Review by

More Andrew Davenport reviews

All Aboard The Ninky Nonk!

All Aboard the Ninky Nonk is book one in a series of six books aimed at the 0-2 years market that are based on episodes of the children’s television series In The Nig [...]

Ooh Pretty Flower!

Ooh Pretty Flower! Is the second book from the In The Night Garden collection and is a board book containing bright and colourful pictures of characters from the television [...]

Time To Wash Faces!

'In the Night Garden' is a magical book for under-threes, about the dreaming time between waking and sleeping. Reached by following a magical little blue star, the [...]

The Bouncy Jumping Game!

The Bouncy Jumping game is the fifth book in a series of six that is based o the successful BBC children’s television programme also written and co-created by Andrew [...]

Upsy Daisy Wants To Sing!

This book sees the permanently cheerful Upsy Daisy, best friend of Igglepiggle and a reoccurring character in all the In The Night Garden books, take her megaphone and stan [...]


The Happy Waving Game! reader reviews

8/10 from 1 reviews

Write a reader review

There are currently no reader reviews for this book. Why not be the first?

Your rating out of 10

Books you may also enjoy

Star Trek Book of Opposites

by David Borgenicht

With the help of classic Star Trek aliens and heroes Kirk, Spock, McCoy, and two dozen colorful pictures from across the galaxy, parents can teach their children the meanin [...]

Series: NA
Published: 2011

Score: 90

Our rating: 9.0 | 0 positive reader reviews